Logo
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 8:36 am



Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Sumon spells 
Author Message
Executioner
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 5:02 pm
Posts: 176
Location: Antwerp
Hi guys,

I am correct to asume that when you have an ary of lets say

2 x 10 bloodletters
2 x Skullcannons
1 x Lord of Change

That i can only summon bloodletters, skullcanons and other Lords of
Change? If this is the case, what about named characters? If i want to summon Gor-Rok then I have to have him first, an i suon a second one or can i only summon him if he died earlier in the game? Or can you summon any unit from the army your wizard is from?

Thanks


Thu Aug 13, 2015 11:28 am
Profile
Corsair
Corsair
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 10:00 pm
Posts: 8575
Location: Hag Graef
I've seen a similar debate on other forums.
Did not see anything convincing to restrict summoning. Also, GW was responsive when asked and confirmed the idea that as long as you have the model available, the chaos sorcerer may summon it. No need to have a similar unit already deployed or previously deployed.

_________________
Winds never stop blowing, Oceans are borderless. Get a ship and a crew, so the World will be ours! Today the World, tomorrow Nagg! {--|oBrotherhood of the Coast!o|--}


Thu Aug 13, 2015 3:57 pm
Profile
Dragon Lord
Dragon Lord
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2002 6:42 pm
Posts: 9664
Location: Designing new breeds of Dragons
I believe the general idea behind the summoned units (and it is made clear by the rules for deployment of an army) is this:

Every warscroll your own is your army at all times. You may place them on the board, you don't have to. But if you own the warscroll, you can use it. If that means summoning a unit that came with the warscroll, go ahead.

The principle is that you buy a box of minis which comes with its rules and you shouldn't need to buy two boxes to use all of its rules.

_________________
7th edition army book:
Games Played: 213
Games Won: 114 (54%)
Games Drawn: 33 (15%)
Games Lost: 66 (31%)

8th Edition army book W/D/L:
Druchii: 36/4/16


Sat Aug 15, 2015 6:01 am
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 7:36 pm
Posts: 3831
Location: Belgium, Brussels
I really like that interpretation, and a great point about having to buy a unit a second time to be able to use the spell.

The counter argument I've seen around comes from these rules:
Quote:
You can continue setting up units until you have set up all the units you want to fight in this battle, or have run out of space. This is your army. Count the number of models in your army – this may come in useful later. Any remaining units are held in reserve, playing no part unless fate lends a hand.

So your army is defined as the models being set up, and the others as playing no part in the game. If a unit, not in the game, gives a wizard the spell to play it, then it is taking part. Tne warscroll of a unit you didn't set up is not part of your army.

But you're right to doubt that GW wants you to buy 2 boxes of a unit before you can use the full rules of the unit. That's a very convincing point.

_________________
I love me a bowl of numbers to crunch for breakfast. If you need anything theoryhammered, I gladly take requests.

Furnace of Arcana, a warhammer blog with delusional grandeur.

"I move unseen. I hide in light and shadow. I move faster than a bird. No plate of armour ever stopped me. I strike recruits and veterans with equal ease. And all shiver at my coldest of whispers."
- The stiff breeze


Sat Aug 15, 2015 7:04 am
Profile WWW
Corsair
Corsair
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 10:00 pm
Posts: 8575
Location: Hag Graef
I've seen that discussion elsewhere.
Some guy even asked GW and they were quickly responsive.
All GW responses I come to see are always on the relaxed side.
No surprise then, they did confirm that as long as you own the unit, you can use it, even if it was not deployed.

It makes sense, too. Why would you need to have to own two models of Great Unclean One or Keeper of Secrets, before you could summon one?

_________________
Winds never stop blowing, Oceans are borderless. Get a ship and a crew, so the World will be ours! Today the World, tomorrow Nagg! {--|oBrotherhood of the Coast!o|--}


Sat Aug 15, 2015 4:19 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software