Unsure about terms?

The place for all game discussions on Age of Sigmar.

Moderator: The Dread Knights

Phox532
Executioner

Unsure about terms?

Post by Phox532 »

Greeting fellow Druchii.

I am hoping for some clarification on some terms, and if there are any others that I haven't thought of. I am new to the game can trying like mad to get caught up to you vets. So here are my questions?
Unit- Is a unit the model or is it a group of models? Sometime when I'm reading I see it what I am persumming is to be both ways. There was one post where someone said they had 40 units of dreadspears. Does this mean 40 models or 400 models if 400 models this you sir have all my respect for some massive painting projects.
Pile in- I'm not sure what this means. I read it in the rules and on here, but I'm not sure how this works, and what purpose it serves.
Wounds and Mortal Wounds- Now I understand that every model has wounds on them, does this mean life points? And are mortal wounds like critical hits? Again not 100% sure but trying to figure it out.
Battle Shock- I have been reading the war scrolls at there are units that prevent this, so I have concluded that its bad and I need to prevent it, but I don't full understand what it is and why it's bad.
Mages- Now I want to have a unit of Doom Fire Warlocks, cause Horse Magic Missiles sound awesome, but I'm not sure how casting spells work or how dispelling works, Do all five of my warlocks act as one, or do each have a go?
Full Command- I see the a lot on here, but I don't know what it means. I think it has something to do with standard bearer, horn guy, and leader? Am I right? My next question is isn't every unit a full command unit? Or why would not want to all three of those in a unit?

Last is not really a term but more how many models can be in one group or one army? Is there a limit? Can I have 60 Cold One Knight Models, in one unit?

`edited spelling
Last edited by Phox532 on Sun Sep 20, 2015 7:50 am, edited 1 time in total.