I have made a terrible mistake.

Got something to talk about? Be it video games, other tabletop or card games, even random stuff - this is the place to post!

Moderator: The Dread Knights

Wrathbaby
Dark Rider

I have made a terrible mistake.

Post by Wrathbaby »

Does anyone else ever find themselves thinking this? I was recently having a good long rant to a friend about every last thing that is wrong with the world, and he sent me the following video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iG9CE55wbtY

That video pretty accurately summarised the things I've been thinking and feeling since starting college, but have been unable to verbalise in any coherent manner. So, interested, I clicked around for a bit and found some other talks by this guy and stumbled upon this lovely gem: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-M8Hl5MUr8w And then I thought, "I have made a terrible mistake".

I'm currently studying chemistry, physics and maths, with an aim to studying chemistry at university next year (because it's my strongest subject, and therefore the one I find the most interesting of the three I'm studying). It's mid exam period, I'm tearing my hair out because I don't think I'm going to make the grades to meet my offer, and I have no idea why. Because I have absolutely no interest in studying chemistry. Sure, it'll increase my chances of getting a job in a field I don't really care about so that I can make money to pay off the debts I incurred at university, whilst simultaneously accumulating more debts in the form of a mortgage to buy a fairly average house in a fairly average area to live a fairly average life. But surely studying ONE subject for four years should be about more than just getting a job? I would like to be able to study a subject because I wanted to study it, and because I cared about it and found it interesting and felt good doing it.