Logo
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Sep 22, 2017 11:50 am



Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Champions with magic items 
Author Message
Malekith's Personal Guard
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 3:20 am
Posts: 813
Location: Reporting live from the battlefield!
It's not so often I need to ask for clarifications, though lately I seem to be slipping in my rules knowledge since I put it all on the shelf till our new book, now just gotta dust off my brain ;)

Can a champion with a shield (CoK) take a magic two-handed weapon and just not use his shield in CC, or since he's just a normal guy and the 2-handed conflicts with his forced setup is he restricted from using it? Actually for that matter, can they technically take any armor? The BRB doesn't have rules for this new trend, does it? I know the HE got this but I hadn't put my brain on it, and it kind of seems to me like they already have stuff, and maybe were intended only to take Enchanted Items and Talismans.

So, any rules (and page numbers :D) that make this clear, please?

_________________
Linda Lobsta Defenda wrote:
dggrj is correct
Woot! If it's only ever said once, I couldn't ask for a better person to say it.


Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:09 pm
Profile
Highborn

Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 1:30 pm
Posts: 614
Location: The duke's forest (yes that's the name of the town I live in)
Post 
Two-handed weapons and shields: Normal characters can have both (although they can only use one) so I see no reason why a champion could not.

Magic armour: page 121 of the BRB: "If a character wears magic armour, he cannot also wear ordinary armour, and needless to say, he can only wear one set of armour."
So, technically they can not take magic armour (apart from the magic sea dragon cloak!). With that said, I'd not mind my opponent giving their unit champion magic armour.


Tue Jul 15, 2008 9:09 pm
Profile
Malekith's Personal Guard
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 3:20 am
Posts: 813
Location: Reporting live from the battlefield!
Post 
That's what I was thinking/afraid of, getwisteerd, but I'd also just woken up. Any RAW-minded folk on here care to jump in and agree/disagree?

_________________
Linda Lobsta Defenda wrote:
dggrj is correct
Woot! If it's only ever said once, I couldn't ask for a better person to say it.


Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:20 pm
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 5:54 pm
Posts: 2503
Location: Qu├ębec, Canucksda.
Post 
Black Guards do not have shields, the champion cannot take a magic shield.

Weapons - anything goes, Armours: as long as one can wear Light Armour, he can take any magic armour (even heavy) except magic shields unless he can also take a normal shield.

So even a magic helm, cloak, etc in the Magic armour section cannot be taken if you cannot wear a normal light armour or better.


Wed Jul 16, 2008 1:02 am
Profile
Malekith's Personal Guard
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 3:20 am
Posts: 813
Location: Reporting live from the battlefield!
Post 
SilverHeimdall wrote:
Black Guards do not have shields, the champion cannot take a magic shield.
Right, that wasn't the question. It was if they could take a magic armor given that you can't remove/opt to not pay for their armor. CoK have a shield though, and I was wondering if a CoK could have the Crimson Death.

SilverHeimdall wrote:
So even a magic helm, cloak, etc in the Magic armour section cannot be taken if you cannot wear a normal light armour or better.
Really? Hadn't actually thought about it since we never had a magic armor cloak before now and I don't play any helm-wear races. Good to know, though, gonna have to check my BRB when I get home just in case ;).

Thanks!


Wed Jul 16, 2008 1:15 am
Profile
Witch Elf
Witch Elf
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2002 11:31 pm
Posts: 8090
Location: Toms River, NJ, USA
Post 
Yes you can have a magical weapon (2 handed) and still have a shield (but if course you cant use the shield in close combat since you must use the weapon.

_________________
General FAQ:
http://www.druchii.net/viewtopic.php?t=2504

FAQ about rules:
http://www.druchii.net/viewtopic.php?p=547809


Wed Jul 16, 2008 2:46 am
Profile
Malekith's Personal Guard
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 3:20 am
Posts: 813
Location: Reporting live from the battlefield!
Post 
Linda Lobsta Defenda wrote:
Yes you can have a magical weapon (2 handed) and still have a shield (but if course you cant use the shield in close combat since you must use the weapon.
So what do you think about magic armors on champions, RAW, Linda?


Wed Jul 16, 2008 6:32 am
Profile
Witch Elf
Witch Elf
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2002 11:31 pm
Posts: 8090
Location: Toms River, NJ, USA
Post 
dggrj: well if the champ has any armour (or option to buy one) then he can take magical ones, if he has a shield or option for shield then he can take the magical ones.

_________________
General FAQ:
http://www.druchii.net/viewtopic.php?t=2504

FAQ about rules:
http://www.druchii.net/viewtopic.php?p=547809


Wed Jul 16, 2008 1:38 pm
Profile
Executioner
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 10:43 am
Posts: 184
Location: Not just Britain....Great Britian
Post 
so a warrior unit Champion can take the armour of living death?

Surely not, Wouldn`t it have to say "May Choose magic items from Common or dark elves magic items lists" on their profile, or am i missing something here?

_________________
Somwhere out there is Inquisitor Horatio Caine investigating cults of slaanesh
Caine looks around seeing bits of cultists on the ground
Inq Caine: Well it looks like these cultists
*puts on glasses*
Inq Caine: Have gone to pieces


Wed Jul 16, 2008 3:03 pm
Profile
Executioner

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 7:48 am
Posts: 191
Post 
JRG wrote:
so a warrior unit Champion can take the armour of living death?

Surely not, Wouldn`t it have to say "May Choose magic items from Common or dark elves magic items lists" on their profile, or am i missing something here?


I believe so. I would assume that all of the above would only apply if the unit champion already had the option to acquire magical items.


Wed Jul 16, 2008 3:47 pm
Profile
Malekith's Personal Guard
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 11:16 pm
Posts: 803
Location: Penn State
Post 
Melinia wrote:
JRG wrote:
so a warrior unit Champion can take the armour of living death?

Surely not, Wouldn`t it have to say "May Choose magic items from Common or dark elves magic items lists" on their profile, or am i missing something here?


I believe so. I would assume that all of the above would only apply if the unit champion already had the option to acquire magical items.


yes it has to say so specifically. It's started becoming options for champions to take magic items in the last few army books. Mainly HE seen in the HE book and a little in VC.


Wed Jul 16, 2008 5:01 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software