Logo
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Sep 25, 2017 6:57 pm



Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
magic resistance questions - new questions! 
Author Message
Roleplaying Deity
Roleplaying Deity
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:50 am
Posts: 4577
Location: Roleplaying Forum
I dont have the rulebook on my right now, so sorry if this question explains itself in there or if magic resistance works slightly differently than how i have it in my head.

If you have a model or unit with magic resistance 1/2/3 you can add that many dice to the hand when rolling to dispell it correct? So say someone throws a spell at a unit with MR2 you opt to roll 1 dispel dice and throw in 2 'resistance' dice, so roll 3 dice for the dispel attempt.

My question to you is, in the example above, can you opt to throw 0 dispel dice and so just throw the 2 'resistance' dice, saving your dispel dice for elsewhere.

There are 2 reasons you may want to do this (following the example above).
- the enemy cast on a low number and you feel 2 dice is sufficiant to roll higher.
- you stand less chance of rolling a double 1 and auto-failing to dispel
- you are out of dispel dice


Last edited by Kinslayer on Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:12 pm, edited 2 times in total.



Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:39 pm
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 5:07 am
Posts: 1060
Location: Plotting the return of the Cult of Pleasure
Post 
There is a third reason as well... you are out of other dispel dice. Yes you can use just the MR dice provided by the units MR.

_________________
To strive, to persevere, to conquer.


Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:46 pm
Profile
Roleplaying Deity
Roleplaying Deity
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:50 am
Posts: 4577
Location: Roleplaying Forum
Post 
Ok thankyou glad i got that one sorted out! Im pretty sure im getting to know everything there is to know now but i do sometimes come across questions like this.

And thanks for the suggestion on a third reason! completely forgot about that one.


Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:52 pm
Profile
Black Guard
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 9:33 pm
Posts: 255
Location: Holland
Post 
I have question as well and since it concerns MR I thought it was better to post it here.

If an area of effect spell is cast and it would affect multiple units all with MR, would you get dice for all of those units?

_________________
Name: Ignat (Group 39)
Class: Mage
Stats: WS4 S3 T4 D3 I4
Equipment: Staff, Short Sword, Robe.
Skills: Power of Aqshy(1), Defensive Fighting.
Inventory: Pendant


Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:44 pm
Profile
Roleplaying Deity
Roleplaying Deity
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:50 am
Posts: 4577
Location: Roleplaying Forum
Post 
@Kensou - I beleive, from the rules, that you would - even though this seems strange as you would be rolling a heck of a lot of dispel dice. Still, i dont see why not but im not sure thats official.


Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:48 pm
Profile
Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 9:16 pm
Posts: 70
Post 
Just one question concerning MR. Say a unit has a MR of an irrelevant magnitude and a spell is cast at it, it obviously gets the option to use that amount of dice equally its MR.

My question is does this work only once per turn. ie, you use all of your MR to dispell a spell then another spell is cast on the same unit, does it get that amount of dispell dice again??

I'be always played it as it doesn't but i've never been quite sure.

Also (realising its no longer just one question), when can you dispell a reamins in play spell your opponant has cast? Can it be dispelled immediately it your turn providing you fail or do not attempt to dispell said spell?

I would have said so but my regular opponant disagrees.

_________________
(°°) Cthulhu themed corsairs FTW!
/()\ Brotherhood of the Coast!


Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:01 pm
Profile
Roleplaying Deity
Roleplaying Deity
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:50 am
Posts: 4577
Location: Roleplaying Forum
Post 
They get the dice at every spell which is cast at them, even if its in the same turn. The unit literally has a magic forcefield around it which can stop spells and is always there, not just there once a turn. Its not like a scroll where you use it then it crumples into ash.

I changed the title for you guys :)


Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:16 pm
Profile
Loremaster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2003 12:30 pm
Posts: 4327
Location: wow, who says I have a location?
Post 
Quote:
If an area of effect spell is cast and it would affect multiple units all with MR, would you get dice for all of those units?

No. Under Magic Resistance my rulebook says: "Magic resistance is never cumulative."

Quote:
My question is does this work only once per turn. ie, you use all of your MR to dispell a spell then another spell is cast on the same unit, does it get that amount of dispell dice again??

Same section of the rules also say: "[...] Extra dice that may be rolled when trying to dispel each spell that affects the magically resistant model." (added emphasis myself)

Quote:
Also (realising its no longer just one question), when can you dispell a reamins in play spell your opponant has cast? Can it be dispelled immediately it your turn providing you fail or do not attempt to dispell said spell?

Under the header 'Dispel spells in play' it says: "After a player has finished casting his spells [...]."

It's pretty much all in the rulebook, really :)


Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:22 pm
Profile
Malekith's Personal Guard
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 3:20 am
Posts: 813
Location: Reporting live from the battlefield!
Post 
Lethalis wrote:
Quote:
If an area of effect spell is cast and it would affect multiple units all with MR, would you get dice for all of those units?

No. Under Magic Resistance my rulebook says: "Magic resistance is never cumulative."
And you can only try to dispel a spell once, so you can't take them sequentially, either.

_________________
Linda Lobsta Defenda wrote:
dggrj is correct
Woot! If it's only ever said once, I couldn't ask for a better person to say it.


Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:53 pm
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 5:07 am
Posts: 1060
Location: Plotting the return of the Cult of Pleasure
Post 
Trying not to sound harsh... but really each of these issues is addressed specifically in main rule book. Most but by no means all of these kind of questions are covered in the rules often not well but covered none the less.

_________________
To strive, to persevere, to conquer.


Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:56 pm
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 3:07 pm
Posts: 1253
Location: Somerset, UK.
Post 
dggrj wrote:
Lethalis wrote:
Quote:
If an area of effect spell is cast and it would affect multiple units all with MR, would you get dice for all of those units?

No. Under Magic Resistance my rulebook says: "Magic resistance is never cumulative."
And you can only try to dispel a spell once, so you can't take them sequentially, either.

Exactly - you use the MR dice of the unit with the greatest amount and the rest are ignored for that spell.

_________________
Still Serving Slaanesh
Owner of one too many armies...


Wed Jul 16, 2008 12:00 am
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend

Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 4:49 pm
Posts: 1076
Location: Québec
Post 
If a spell affects more than 1 model with MR, you take the one that has the most Magic Resistance.

The best example I can say: The Fey Enchantress, it's even explained in her rule. The Unicorn as a MR of 2 while the Fey as a MR of 3, so you take the MR3 if they are affected by a spell.

However, there's one thing that brings me a question and it's about the Null Shard. They say that their power do stacks but does it mean that if a unit with MR1 is there and there's another with a Null Shard in range, the MR will get to MR2?


Wed Jul 16, 2008 10:06 am
Profile
Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 9:43 am
Posts: 563
Location: Den Haag
Post 
No, the null shards stack on eachother not on other MR

_________________
Never know what to do next, you might surprise yourself


Wed Jul 16, 2008 11:02 am
Profile
Cold One Knight

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 6:17 pm
Posts: 201
Location: Wherever you're not.
Post 
If a character has a null shard and joins a unit, does the unit get MR1? Or just the character?

_________________
People say I'm cocky, I say it's because they know I'm the best.

GrogsnotPowwabomba wrote:
Ok, I agree with Lord_Jimmy here.


Wed Jul 16, 2008 11:48 am
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 5:07 am
Posts: 1060
Location: Plotting the return of the Cult of Pleasure
Post 
If the spell effects the unit the unit gets to use the character's MR (example magic missle).

_________________
To strive, to persevere, to conquer.


Wed Jul 16, 2008 11:51 am
Profile
Witch Elf
Witch Elf
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2002 11:31 pm
Posts: 8090
Location: Toms River, NJ, USA
Post 
Lord_Jimmy_ wrote:
If a character has a null shard and joins a unit, does the unit get MR1? Or just the character?


The whole unit. See the GW FAQ

_________________
General FAQ:
http://www.druchii.net/viewtopic.php?t=2504

FAQ about rules:
http://www.druchii.net/viewtopic.php?p=547809


Wed Jul 16, 2008 1:39 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 16 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software