Logo
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 3:11 pm



Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Chillwind vs Anvil etc 
Author Message
Cold One Knight
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 9:17 am
Posts: 245
Location: Chiswick, London
The description for chillwind says any units suffering casulties may not shoot.

So i take it that this doesnt cover actions in the shooting phase like the anvils attacks that arn't shooting.

_________________
Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the horror of the shade,
And yet the menace of the years
Finds, and shall find, me unafraid.


Mon Jul 21, 2008 10:47 am
Profile
Witch Elf
Witch Elf
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2002 11:31 pm
Posts: 8090
Location: Toms River, NJ, USA
Post 
That is correct.

_________________
General FAQ:
http://www.druchii.net/viewtopic.php?t=2504

FAQ about rules:
http://www.druchii.net/viewtopic.php?p=547809


Mon Jul 21, 2008 11:17 am
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 5:54 pm
Posts: 2503
Location: Québec, Canucksda.
Post 
I'd have to applaud a Chillwind causing a wound on either the 2 Guards or the Runelord.


Mon Jul 21, 2008 9:26 pm
Profile
Loremaster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2003 12:30 pm
Posts: 4327
Location: wow, who says I have a location?
Post 
If the spell description hasn't changed since the 6th, it'd need to kill the Runelord, not merely take a wound off him since it says 'casualties' (in the 6th edition book, anyway).


Mon Jul 21, 2008 9:31 pm
Profile
Cold One Knight
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 9:17 am
Posts: 245
Location: Chiswick, London
Post 
its says casulties not wounds in the description.

i wasnt just talking about the anvil but things in general that work in the shooting phase without actually shooting, that was the 1st thing that came to mind.

_________________
Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the horror of the shade,
And yet the menace of the years
Finds, and shall find, me unafraid.


Mon Jul 21, 2008 9:37 pm
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 5:54 pm
Posts: 2503
Location: Québec, Canucksda.
Post 
It does not say "cannot act in the next shooting phase" but only "cannot shoot in the next turn", so yes the Anvil could still strike your face in but I was merely point out that ..

1-4 hits the anvil - hits are discarded
5-6 hits the crew

1-4 hits the guards - T4, 3+ armour against shooting, 4+ ward against missiles
5-6 hits the runelord - T5, usually with a super armour save and of course the 4+ ward against missiles.

~_~


Mon Jul 21, 2008 10:19 pm
Profile
Malekith's Personal Guard
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 2:46 am
Posts: 857
Post 
SilverHeimdall wrote:
It does not say "cannot act in the next shooting phase" but only "cannot shoot in the next turn", so yes the Anvil could still strike your face in but I was merely point out that ..

1-4 hits the anvil - hits are discarded
5-6 hits the crew

1-4 hits the guards - T4, 3+ armour against shooting, 4+ ward against missiles
5-6 hits the runelord - T5, usually with a super armour save and of course the 4+ ward against missiles.

~_~


actually as per the dwarf FAQ, you do not randomize between the anvil and the crew, the 4+ ward save vs shooting is the only protection that the anvil gives


Tue Jul 22, 2008 6:00 am
Profile
Malekith's Personal Guard
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 3:20 am
Posts: 813
Location: Reporting live from the battlefield!
Post 
And the definition of a casualty is one killed or injured, as per your local dictionary ;)

_________________
Linda Lobsta Defenda wrote:
dggrj is correct
Woot! If it's only ever said once, I couldn't ask for a better person to say it.


Tue Jul 22, 2008 8:01 am
Profile
Malekith's Personal Guard
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 11:16 pm
Posts: 803
Location: Penn State
Post 
dggrj wrote:
And the definition of a casualty is one killed or injured, as per your local dictionary ;)


That may be, but the character could be wounded, but just because he is injured does not mean he is a casualty of war yet. When you "remove casualties" the model isn't necessarily dead, but could be incapacitated.


Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:13 pm
Profile
Malekith's Personal Guard
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 3:20 am
Posts: 813
Location: Reporting live from the battlefield!
Post 
I'm playing devil's advocate because I think their wording technically allows wounds and they didn't mean it. What a surprise. Casualty's definition says wounded, not wounded-so-badly-as-to-be-out-of-action.

_________________
Linda Lobsta Defenda wrote:
dggrj is correct
Woot! If it's only ever said once, I couldn't ask for a better person to say it.


Tue Jul 22, 2008 4:39 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software