View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Sep 18, 2019 11:01 pm

Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Another Bladewind Question 
Author Message
Trainee Warrior

Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:43 pm
Posts: 37
Just another quick question about Bladewind. I was playing against a demon army and when i tried to cast bladewind on my opponent's lord of change he said it would only get 1 attack because only one attack can target a character, so here is my question.

If cast on a character outside of a unit do you get the full number of attacks or just the one that would target the character if he was in a unit?

Mon Aug 11, 2008 3:10 pm
The Scourge of Khaine
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 10:33 am
Posts: 1208
Location: Raiding Ulthuan and eating Cheese near Rottenburg
Yes, you'll get the full amount of attacks (who else is there to target?)

only when in a unit may you allocate 1 attack at the char , except large targets (otherwise you could use the spell to snipe characters....)

Scions of Hag Graef - my Army Plog

Last edited by Lamekh on Mon Aug 11, 2008 3:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mon Aug 11, 2008 3:30 pm
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 10:00 pm
Posts: 8708
Location: Hag Graef
Easy one:
you got the 3d6 attacks.
There is only 1 model in the unit so you do not allocate the attacks at all.

The question would also arise if you targeted a unit with 1 character and, lets say, 1 single rank-and-file.
Your freind would argue that the rank-and-file would get all attacks but one? Wrong.

There, my interpretation of the rules would be:
BRB p.110 you allocate magic hits like you would do for shooting => BRB p.74.
In addition, you have the specific rule for Bladewind, allowing you to allocate 1 hit to the character. The never mentioned that this rule cancelled the regular shooting rule, did they?

Example: if you get 12 wounds as result of 3d6:
- you allocate 1 to the character (specific Bladewind rule)
- allocate evenly the remaining hits, i.e. 5 hits each (regular rule)
- randomize the last hit.

Winds never stop blowing, Oceans are borderless. Get a ship and a crew, so the World will be ours! Today the World, tomorrow Nagg! {--|oBrotherhood of the Coast!o|--}

Mon Aug 11, 2008 3:33 pm
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2003 12:30 pm
Posts: 4327
Location: wow, who says I have a location?
I can't find anything better than what I'm about to quote now, but:
Rulebook page 7, under 'Units' wrote:
Some characters, like the mighty Daemon Princes of Chaos, are so large and powerful that they follow the rules for monsters!

I'm pretty sure that a Lord of Change counts as a monster in this respect and that you should have gotten the full number of attacks on him.

Mon Aug 11, 2008 3:34 pm
Purveyor of Pain
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2004 12:24 am
Posts: 1721
Location: Wherever the fight is
If the character is the unit then you get to allocate all attacks on it. The character isn't hidden in a unit and in actually follows many of the monster rules, so you would get all of the attacks on him. That specific rule is written so that you don't allocate all 3D6 attacks on a character as that would severely unbalance the rule. If it is a single model even a US1 model on its own, then all hits are allocated on it.

castrensis in totus res
Fight my Brutehttp://suckerpunch77.mybrute.com
Try Evony!http://zao77s.evony.com

Mon Aug 11, 2008 3:38 pm
Malekith's Personal Guard

Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 7:57 pm
Posts: 803
Location: Hell
What if it's a character riding a monster? Because they're combat attacks, you can't randomally roll to see who you hit - you have to allocate them? Would that mean just one hits the rider, while the rest have to be allocated to the mount?

Punishment leads to Fear. Fear leads to Obedience. Obedience leads to Freedom. Therefore, Punishment leads to Freedom.

Kuyoz Nightkiller
WS: 4 S:3 T:3 D:4 I:4
Repeater Crossbow, Short Sword, Shade Cloak, Light Armour
5 throwing daggers, 90gc

Tue Aug 19, 2008 8:14 pm
Profile WWW
Lord of the Venom Sword
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 12:58 pm
Posts: 2171
Location: London
What if it's a character riding a monster? Because they're combat attacks, you can't randomally roll to see who you hit - you have to allocate them? Would that mean just one hits the rider, while the rest have to be allocated to the mount?


Ash010110 wrote:
I completely agree with Ant (Reynolds, I presume?).

(Please note, I am NOT Anthony Reynolds)

Wed Aug 20, 2008 7:10 am
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software