Druchii.net
http://druchii.net/phpBB3/

multiple charges on same unit, fleeing
http://druchii.net/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=76623
Page 1 of 1

Author:  toots [ Mon Apr 06, 2015 6:12 pm ]
Post subject:  multiple charges on same unit, fleeing

Hi,

my unit A charges an opponent unit and it holds.

My unit B charges the same opponent unit, but it flees this time due to terror or just choosing to.

Obviously B can test to redirect, but can A also?

What if this happened with four units? Can they all redirect if on the fourth charge the opponent unit flees?

Thanks for your help recently!!

Author:  Calisson [ Mon Apr 06, 2015 8:00 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: multiple charges on same unit, fleeing

FAQ:
Q: If multiple units have declared a charge against a unit that has chosen a Flee! Charge response, can they all attempt to redirect their charge if there is another viable target in range? (p18)
A: Yes. The controlling player chooses in which order to try and redirect his charging units.

Author:  toots [ Mon Apr 06, 2015 9:51 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: multiple charges on same unit, fleeing

hang on... this could be amazing.

if for example, you have cast SHROUD (very much flavour of the month at tooty towers) and a unit with LD9 has been affected by it, if you have 4 units with terror charging the same unit, i think crudely (or perhaps accurately), the probability of it running away from (at least?) one is 4*0.17 = 0.68

and then they can all redirect? to another unit, which now has LD8 (base LD9, -1 because of SHROUD), so the chance of that one running is 4*0.42 = ... ok not greater than 1, but you can see what i mean. and perhaps those units near the first unit need to take a panic test as a unit within 6" ran away?

am i making sense? thanks for your input.

Author:  Searinox Nagharha [ Tue Apr 07, 2015 4:02 am ]
Post subject:  Re: multiple charges on same unit, fleeing

Yes but using Terror with Shroud is a basic strategy. but thats for the other thread
(besides if you dud it right you opponent should alrdy sit on a lower Ld.

On the main matter tho I think the first unit will have suffered a Failed charge reaction if the charge has already been completed (so they are in base contact with your unit) and cant move any further.

Author:  Thraundil [ Tue Apr 07, 2015 6:38 am ]
Post subject:  Re: multiple charges on same unit, fleeing

Searinox Nagharha wrote:
On the main matter tho I think the first unit will have suffered a Failed charge reaction if the charge has already been completed (so they are in base contact with your unit) and cant move any further.


Remember the correct sequence of the charge sub-phase is to first declare all charges before you move any charging unit. So you can declare a charge on unit A with first monster 1, then 2, then 3 (lets say he fails terror here and flees). Then redirect with monster 1 and 2 since they haven't even moved yet. No charge movement is resolved until you are completely through with declaring and redirecting all charges.

As an educational side note for toots :twisted: calculating the statistical odds like you do: if a unit fails LD on a 0,17 chance and it has to take this test four times, you dont multiply the chance by four. Rather, you say the chance of succeeding each time is 0,83. Which means the chance of making 4 subsequent successful tests is 0,83 to the power of 4, or 0,83^4 if you will. 0,47, or 47% chance to make it. Which translates to a 53% chance of failing at least one of the four tests. This says nothing of which test it will fail - the odds of failing the first or the last are equally great.

Author:  toots [ Tue Apr 07, 2015 11:38 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: multiple charges on same unit, fleeing

Ok thanks so much guys, appreciate it!

P.s. Yeah I remembered how to figure out the probabilities!

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/