Logo
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 1:48 am



Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Avert your Gaze on garrison 
Author Message
Malekith's Personal Guard
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 4:25 pm
Posts: 929
Location: Delft
When my Medusa attacks an garrisoned building, with how many models is she in base contact regarding Avert your Gaze ?

_________________
The 13th Legion


Thu Apr 09, 2015 10:57 am
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:46 pm
Posts: 1177
Location: The Depths of Despair
I would probably say she is not in base contact with any models... She is in base contact with the building, not the enemy models.

_________________
Name: Ladry (female)
Class: Mage (Pyromancer)
Equipment: Staff, longsword, dagger, 20 gold, insignia ring.
Skills: Power of Aqshy (2), defensive figthing
WS4, S2, T3, D4, I6.


Thu Apr 09, 2015 11:57 am
Profile
Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 7:44 pm
Posts: 570
Location: The thin edge of the wedge
I would say that she is in base contact with as many as she would normally be if the building didn't exist. If she's not in base contact, then how can she even attack and be attacked.


Thu Apr 09, 2015 8:19 pm
Profile
Corsair
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 4:10 pm
Posts: 76
Location: Denmark - Aalborg
then she will fight with as many (inside) as she normally would be in contact with in an outside fight. He nominates 10 there will fight the intruders and you fight those. Keep in mind, should he choose a hero/lord. They can still be singled out to fight against.

_________________
Walk in the light and live not in fear. For We are brothers, our blood ligates us and holds us to our deeds.

Pictures of my little dark elves army: http://s195.photobucket.com/user/xPraet ... /Warhammer


Thu Apr 09, 2015 10:49 pm
Profile
Corsair
Corsair
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 10:00 pm
Posts: 8563
Location: Hag Graef
Buildings are described p.126 sq.
For "Avert Your Gaze" , read p.128, "Special attacks".
It says "For special attacks (such as stomps) and items that affect models in base contact,
a model fighting in a building is assumed to be in base contact with one enemy model nominated by the enemy player..."


So the answer is: 1 model.

_________________
Winds never stop blowing, Oceans are borderless. Get a ship and a crew, so the World will be ours! Today the World, tomorrow Nagg! {--|oBrotherhood of the Coast!o|--}


Fri Apr 10, 2015 12:29 pm
Profile
Online
Generalissimo
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 3:09 pm
Posts: 3670
Location: Baltimore
Calisson wrote:
Buildings are described p.126 sq.
For "Avert Your Gaze" , read p.128, "Special attacks".
It says "For special attacks (such as stomps) and items that affect models in base contact,
a model fighting in a building is assumed to be in base contact with one enemy model nominated by the enemy player..."

So the answer is: 1 model.

Other way around surely? Each model in the building is assumed to be in contact with one enemy model nominated by the enemy player. If there is only one medusa attacking the building, then each model in the building would be assumed to be in contact with the medusa, as that is the only model there. Thus all models in the building would be in base-to-base contact with the attacking medusa.

_________________
"While all answers are replies, not all replies are answers. So answer the question."

Don't be a munchkin?

Image

I am an Extraordinary Druchii Gentleman


Fri Apr 10, 2015 3:19 pm
Profile
Corsair
Corsair
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 10:00 pm
Posts: 8563
Location: Hag Graef
Nice try.
But I doubt your interpretation can beat a relevant rule quote.

So the answer remains: 1 model.

_________________
Winds never stop blowing, Oceans are borderless. Get a ship and a crew, so the World will be ours! Today the World, tomorrow Nagg! {--|oBrotherhood of the Coast!o|--}


Fri Apr 10, 2015 3:43 pm
Profile
Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 7:44 pm
Posts: 570
Location: The thin edge of the wedge
Calisson wrote:
Buildings are described p.126 sq.
For "Avert Your Gaze" , read p.128, "Special attacks".
It says "For special attacks (such as stomps) and items that affect models in base contact,
a model fighting in a building is assumed to be in base contact with one enemy model nominated by the enemy player..."


So the answer is: 1 model.


As per your quotes above:

"a model fighting in a building is assumed to be in base contact with one enemy model (the medusa)" So any model in a building is in contact with the medusa. So then all models in the building suffer from avert your gaze.

I think Red has it right.


Fri Apr 10, 2015 5:15 pm
Profile
Corsair
Corsair
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 10:00 pm
Posts: 8563
Location: Hag Graef
- I don't understand clearly how you manage to translate "one enemy model nominated" to "all models in the building".
- Even if your interpretation was debatable, when in sincere doubt between two interpretations, sportsmanship would recommend to keep the least favorable.

_________________
Winds never stop blowing, Oceans are borderless. Get a ship and a crew, so the World will be ours! Today the World, tomorrow Nagg! {--|oBrotherhood of the Coast!o|--}


Fri Apr 10, 2015 5:34 pm
Profile
Online
Generalissimo
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 3:09 pm
Posts: 3670
Location: Baltimore
Here's the process shown through an example:

A unit with three models (Model 1, Model, 2, Model, 3) sits in a building, they are being attacked by a single medusa.

We run through the rule ("a model fighting in a building is assumed to be in base contact with one enemy model nominated by the enemy player...") for each case:

Model 1 from the unit: He is a model fighting in a building, thus he is assumed to be in base contact with one enemy model nominated by the enemy. There is only one enemy model attacking the building, so the nominated model must be the Medusa.
Model 2 from the unit: He is a model fighting in a building, thus he is assumed to be in base contact with one enemy model nominated by the enemy. There is only one enemy model attacking the building, so the nominated model must be the Medusa.
Model 3 from the unit: He is a model fighting in a building, thus he is assumed to be in base contact with one enemy model nominated by the enemy. There is only one enemy model attacking the building, so the nominated model must be the Medusa.

The "one enemy model nominated" portion of the rule refers to models attacking the building, not those within it. I think you are confusing the setup: the medusa is outside the building attacking inwards, the unit is inside the building. Each model in the unit in the building is affected by the rule, not just one model.

I agree with the benevolent interpretation approach, but the above is not an interpretation, it is RAW. There is no area of grey to suggest that a model in the building is not affected by the rule just because another model in the building is affected by the rule as well.

_________________
"While all answers are replies, not all replies are answers. So answer the question."

Don't be a munchkin?

Image

I am an Extraordinary Druchii Gentleman


Fri Apr 10, 2015 6:48 pm
Profile
Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 7:44 pm
Posts: 570
Location: The thin edge of the wedge
I would play it as though we were in a typical combat engagement, whereby if the enemy was 20mm base, then 4 models affected by avert your gaze and if 25mm then only three. That seems a fair compromise.


Fri Apr 10, 2015 7:30 pm
Profile
Corsair
Corsair
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 10:00 pm
Posts: 8563
Location: Hag Graef
BRB p.128 wrote:
"For special attacks (such as stomps) and items that affect models in base contact,
a model fighting in a building is assumed to be in base contact with one enemy model nominated by the enemy player..."
Red... wrote:
The "one enemy model nominated" portion of the rule refers to models attacking the building, not those within it.
Let's check if it is as obvious as you think.

The rule refers to "a model fighting in a building" and to its enemy.
There are two factions, one garrisoning the building, one assaulting it.
A model garrisoning a building is certainly "a model fighting in a building", there's no dispute.

Now, couldn't a model assaulting a building be considered to be "a model fighting in a building", too?
The description p.128, "Fighting the assault", mentions "the best fighters from either side pushing their way forwards into the fray" and "It's hard to maintain the impetus of a charge in a confined area".
To me, the underlined words can be used to prove that at least some assailants are inside the building.
Of course, I'm pushing words to extreme, but that's RAW, too.

More importantly, I would find strange that the game conceptors
- would make a rule for insiders able to be in base contact with only one single outsider,
- while outsiders would be left free to be in base contact with as many as 10 insiders, on the pretext that this rule would allegedly not apply to them.
This difference of treatment does not make much sense, to the point that I strongly doubt it could be a correct interpretation.

_________________
Winds never stop blowing, Oceans are borderless. Get a ship and a crew, so the World will be ours! Today the World, tomorrow Nagg! {--|oBrotherhood of the Coast!o|--}


Fri Apr 10, 2015 9:29 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software