Logo
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Nov 16, 2018 6:20 am



Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
OTC and close combat 
Author Message
Warrior

Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 12:02 pm
Posts: 59
hi all,

I have a question on OTC.
does it work only to the model touching the bearer or the whole unit?
from the description it states: "all the model touching the bearer" but let assume the following: a master in an exec unit has a OTC and is fighting in a cc a unit of Phoenix guard on 2 ranks. when master attack, does only the 3 model in contact re-run the ward safe or 6 model (as it has 2 ranks)? moreover, when the exec strike the guard, these 3 model will still re-run the ward safe or more? given that we are in cc everyone should touch everyone, how do you determine it?

a couple of other question:
Character with magic resistence (e.g. ring of hotek) on a Dragon do they give ward safe on the dragon? it works on unit, not sure on mounts
master (sea dragon+heavy armour+shield) on CO chariot: what is his TA? how does it works for the wounds? do they first need to do 5 wounds to the chariot and then they might hit the master?

thank you very much!


Mon Apr 27, 2015 11:49 am
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:46 pm
Posts: 1177
Location: The Depths of Despair
OTS: Every model in direct base contact with the bearer only. In your example:

PPPPP
PPPPP
EEMEEX
EEEEE

Where P is PG, E is exec and M is your master with the OTS. In this case, the middle 3 PG must reroll successful ward saves. The trick is: all your executioners are in base contact with PG's who must reroll their successful ward saves. So you simply direct your attacks on those 3 models. Due to the step-up rule, every wound you inflict in this manner will force a successful ward save to be rerolled. However, another model (X) striking at the PG can NOT hit a PG model touched by the OTS effect, and hence X's attacks will not force a reroll of a passed ward save.

Char with magic resistance gives its benefits to his/her entire unit. A character on a dragon is considered a unit on its own - so yes, the dragon does benefit from magic resistance. It will, however, NOT benefit from say a talisman of preservation ward save, as that save is personal.

Master on chariot would have an armor save of: SDC (5+) + heavy armor (further 5+) + shield (+1) + mounted (+1) for a total of 1+ armor save. A chariot is a mount in this regard. However, a character riding a chariot does not combine its profiles - it is treated exactly as a ridden monster. Any shooting or magic hit is distributed: on a d6 roll of 1-4, the chariot is hit, and on a 5-6 the master is hit. Should the chariot die, the master ends up on foot, and with only a 2+ (edited from a typo) armor save. In close combat, enemies can choose to either hit the chariot or the master. Also keep in mind, any ward save you buy for the master will not benefit the chariot (but again, magic resistance will).

_________________
Name: Ladry (female)
Class: Mage (Pyromancer)
Equipment: Staff, longsword, dagger, 20 gold, insignia ring.
Skills: Power of Aqshy (2), defensive figthing
WS4, S2, T3, D4, I6.


Last edited by Thraundil on Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Mon Apr 27, 2015 12:04 pm
Profile
Corsair
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 4:10 pm
Posts: 76
Location: Denmark - Aalborg
something else to be said about the OTS.

This works on models (enemy as well as friendly) in BtB with your master, so should you have a Dreadlord next to him, then he would be forced to re-roll his wardsave as well.

_________________
Walk in the light and live not in fear. For We are brothers, our blood ligates us and holds us to our deeds.

Pictures of my little dark elves army: http://s195.photobucket.com/user/xPraet ... /Warhammer


Mon Apr 27, 2015 12:13 pm
Profile
Warrior

Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 12:02 pm
Posts: 59
thanks very good explanation!

re the chariot: given that i need to replace the crew, will the chariot have less wounds or he will still have 5 wounds?
when it goes on foot it should be 2+ not 3+, is it correct?


Mon Apr 27, 2015 12:57 pm
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:46 pm
Posts: 1177
Location: The Depths of Despair
Typo! Meant 2+ armor save :)

The chariot still has 5 wounds. The master replaces one crew member (the other one is still there, with attacks and all, remember that). The wounds of a chariot is not "its crew" but how durable its hull is, so to say :p

_________________
Name: Ladry (female)
Class: Mage (Pyromancer)
Equipment: Staff, longsword, dagger, 20 gold, insignia ring.
Skills: Power of Aqshy (2), defensive figthing
WS4, S2, T3, D4, I6.


Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:07 pm
Profile
Warrior

Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 12:02 pm
Posts: 59
this looks very interesting to field a chariot then...

Just to confirm: Death hag can not take magic items, only weapons, is it correct?
a BSB if is carrying a magic banner can not take any other magic item, is it correct?


Mon Apr 27, 2015 2:40 pm
Profile
Corsair
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 4:10 pm
Posts: 76
Location: Denmark - Aalborg
Cicciuz wrote:
this looks very interesting to field a chariot then...

Just to confirm: Death hag can not take magic items, only weapons, is it correct?
a BSB if is carrying a magic banner can not take any other magic item, is it correct?


yes and yes

_________________
Walk in the light and live not in fear. For We are brothers, our blood ligates us and holds us to our deeds.

Pictures of my little dark elves army: http://s195.photobucket.com/user/xPraet ... /Warhammer


Mon Apr 27, 2015 3:00 pm
Profile
Warrior

Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 12:02 pm
Posts: 59
If a character with OTC is on a charriot, all the model touching the chariot must re-run ward saves?

can the heroes special character (e.g. Kouran Blackhand) be the BSB?


Tue Apr 28, 2015 12:17 pm
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:46 pm
Posts: 1177
Location: The Depths of Despair
Yes, everyone in base contact with the chariot must reroll their successful ward saves.

No, only a standard master or death hag can be a battle standard bearer.

_________________
Name: Ladry (female)
Class: Mage (Pyromancer)
Equipment: Staff, longsword, dagger, 20 gold, insignia ring.
Skills: Power of Aqshy (2), defensive figthing
WS4, S2, T3, D4, I6.


Tue Apr 28, 2015 5:38 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software