 |
|
Page 1 of 1
|
[ 7 posts ] |
|
Final transmutation and the cauldron
Author |
Message |
toots
Beastmaster
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 10:25 pm Posts: 334
|
OK guys, last night final trans was cast on the witch elf unit with cauldron inside. Obviously the character takes a roll on a 6, but, do I have to roll for the cauldron as well? Or is it one roll for both, or do not even roll for the cauldron?! (I rolled a 6!!!)
Thanks guys
|
Fri Jun 05, 2015 7:53 am |
|
 |
toots
Beastmaster
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 10:25 pm Posts: 334
|
bump!
|
Sat Jun 06, 2015 4:33 pm |
|
 |
Calisson
Corsair
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 10:00 pm Posts: 8652 Location: Hag Graef
|
The DH, the COB and its attendants make together a single model. Final Transmutation affects models. One single roll for the whole model. Everything was therefore turned as gold, and is removed as a casualty.
_________________Winds never stop blowing, Oceans are borderless. Get a ship and a crew, so the World will be ours! Today the World, tomorrow Nagg! {--|oBrotherhood of the Coast!o|--}
|
Sat Jun 06, 2015 7:11 pm |
|
 |
Daeron
Malekith's Best Friend
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 7:36 pm Posts: 3851 Location: Belgium, Brussels
|
Aye, sounds about right to me. One roll for both, which are turned to gold on a 6.
_________________I love me a bowl of numbers to crunch for breakfast. If you need anything theoryhammered, I gladly take requests. Furnace of Arcana, a warhammer blog with delusional grandeur. "I move unseen. I hide in light and shadow. I move faster than a bird. No plate of armour ever stopped me. I strike recruits and veterans with equal ease. And all shiver at my coldest of whispers." - The stiff breeze
|
Sat Jun 06, 2015 9:03 pm |
|
 |
Thraundil
Malekith's Best Friend
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:46 pm Posts: 1177 Location: The Depths of Despair
|
I disagree. I would think you roll separately for the rider and the mount, seeing as how with a normal direct damage spell you would have to allocate hits. So the death hag is hit, and affected on 6, and the cauldron is also hit and affected on a 6.
_________________ Name: Ladry (female) Class: Mage (Pyromancer) Equipment: Staff, longsword, dagger, 20 gold, insignia ring. Skills: Power of Aqshy (2), defensive figthing WS4, S2, T3, D4, I6.
|
Sun Jun 07, 2015 8:09 am |
|
 |
Haagrum
PhD in Dark Magic
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 11:54 am Posts: 592 Location: The depths of the Black Library
|
Final Transmutation states that you roll a D6 for every model in the unit.
Elsewhere in the BRB, it's made clear that a monster and rider (or in this case, a chariot and its rider) is one model, but with two components. This is why a cannon or template weapon hits both the monster and the rider, but why you randomise hits from BS shooting attacks against either the rider or the mount. It's why you can Killing Blow a monster's rider separately from the mount itself, and why Heroic Killing Blows on the mount won't kill the rider.
I understand your point, Thraundil, but there are no hits to be allocated here. Every model in a unit takes the relevant test when Final Transmutation hits the unit, not every part of every model which can be separately targeted (which, admittedly, only comes up in the case of characters riding a chariot or monster).
Returning to the question at hand: the spell uses the word "model". A Cauldron of Blood with a Death Hag on top is one model. If it's targeted by Final Transmutation, you roll once, and hope it's not a 6. If it is a 6, you take the whole thing off.
_________________ "The wrath of a good man is not to be feared. They have too many rules."
"Good men don't need rules. Today is not a good time to find out why I have so many."
|
Sun Jun 07, 2015 8:57 am |
|
 |
toots
Beastmaster
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 10:25 pm Posts: 334
|
OK thanks guys!!!
|
Sun Jun 07, 2015 10:38 am |
|
|
|
Page 1 of 1
|
[ 7 posts ] |
|
Who is online |
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot post attachments in this forum
|
|
 |
|