View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Feb 25, 2020 8:38 am

Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Cauldron of Blood+ Magic Resistance question. 
Author Message
Slave on the Altar
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2015 10:47 am
Posts: 1
The rulebook on page 72 says a character with MR that joins a unit gives it to the whole unit.

The Dark elf book says the cauldron of blood joins and leaves units as if it were a character but otherwise is not treated as a character and can only join and leave units like one.

So doesn't that mean its therefore just a chariot that move in and out of units like a character but isn't a character so doesn't grant MR1 to the whole unit? Because that's an ability beyond just joining and leaving units?

The writing couldn't be more ambiguous if they tried.

Sat Jun 20, 2015 10:59 am
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 7:36 pm
Posts: 3859
Location: Belgium, Brussels
The cauldron itself isn't a character, so it can't be challenged etc. However, it joins the unit like a character, and so I would assume that all rules for joining a unit, such as granting magic resistance to the unit, counts.
I'm not the expert but as far as I have observed, it has been consistently ruled that the Cauldron, and the Bloodwrack Shrine give their MR to the unit.

I love me a bowl of numbers to crunch for breakfast. If you need anything theoryhammered, I gladly take requests.

Furnace of Arcana, a warhammer blog with delusional grandeur.

"I move unseen. I hide in light and shadow. I move faster than a bird. No plate of armour ever stopped me. I strike recruits and veterans with equal ease. And all shiver at my coldest of whispers."
- The stiff breeze

Sat Jun 20, 2015 11:28 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 2 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software