Logo
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Aug 14, 2018 9:15 pm



Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
ring of hotek - rolling 1s and 6s simultaneously 
Author Message
Beastmaster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 10:25 pm
Posts: 334
Hi -

hypothetically, what if your opponent rolls two 1s and two 6s when casting a spell on a unit with the ring of hotek? the rulebooks overrule the BRB of course, but an opponent might argue that the rolls cancel?


cheers,

toots


Sun Jul 05, 2015 9:13 pm
Profile
Corsair
Corsair
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 10:00 pm
Posts: 8632
Location: Hag Graef
toots wrote:
the rulebooks overrule the BRB
ditto

_________________
Winds never stop blowing, Oceans are borderless. Get a ship and a crew, so the World will be ours! Today the World, tomorrow Nagg! {--|oBrotherhood of the Coast!o|--}


Sun Jul 05, 2015 10:25 pm
Profile
PhD in Dark Magic
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 11:54 am
Posts: 592
Location: The depths of the Black Library
Jut to clarify - the wording on the Ring of Hotek is very specific. The last line of the item description states "Miscasts caused by a roll of double 1 do not benefit from irresistible force." Applying the "army books > BRB" principle, that

If you have any issues with someone challenging that interpretation, then you could respond that if it wasn't meant to have that effect, the item's effects would not have included the last sentence. If that was the case, there would be no additional effect in the scenario presented by the OP - but that isn't how the item's rules are worded.

/captainobvious

_________________
"The wrath of a good man is not to be feared. They have too many rules."

"Good men don't need rules. Today is not a good time to find out why I have so many."


Mon Jul 06, 2015 10:58 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 3 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software