Druchii.net
http://druchii.net/phpBB3/

ring of hotek - rolling 1s and 6s simultaneously
http://druchii.net/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=76909
Page 1 of 1

Author:  toots [ Sun Jul 05, 2015 9:13 pm ]
Post subject:  ring of hotek - rolling 1s and 6s simultaneously

Hi -

hypothetically, what if your opponent rolls two 1s and two 6s when casting a spell on a unit with the ring of hotek? the rulebooks overrule the BRB of course, but an opponent might argue that the rolls cancel?


cheers,

toots

Author:  Calisson [ Sun Jul 05, 2015 10:25 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: ring of hotek - rolling 1s and 6s simultaneously

toots wrote:
the rulebooks overrule the BRB
ditto

Author:  Haagrum [ Mon Jul 06, 2015 10:58 am ]
Post subject:  Re: ring of hotek - rolling 1s and 6s simultaneously

Jut to clarify - the wording on the Ring of Hotek is very specific. The last line of the item description states "Miscasts caused by a roll of double 1 do not benefit from irresistible force." Applying the "army books > BRB" principle, that

If you have any issues with someone challenging that interpretation, then you could respond that if it wasn't meant to have that effect, the item's effects would not have included the last sentence. If that was the case, there would be no additional effect in the scenario presented by the OP - but that isn't how the item's rules are worded.

/captainobvious

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/