Logo
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:24 am



Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Cloak of Twilight and magic weapon 
Author Message
Slave on the Altar
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 11:04 pm
Posts: 2
Hi Guys, just wondering whether the Cloak of Twilight's killing Blow and Multiwounds ability work with a character wielding a magic weapon (Ogre blade) So will the character get +2 Str, Killing Blow and Multiwounds. Or does the magic weapon prevent the Cloak's special rules?

Many thanks


Fri Jan 15, 2016 11:17 pm
Profile
PhD in Dark Magic
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 11:54 am
Posts: 592
Location: The depths of the Black Library
The Cloak of Twilight gives the Multiple Wounds (D3) and Killing Blow rules to the model wearing it (in the first round of any combat). It stacks with the effects of any weapon the model may be carrying, whether magical or otherwise.

So, in the example you gave, a model with Cloak of Twilight and Ogre Blade will have +2 Strength on its close combat attacks (the same would apply if it was armed with a great weapon or if it had charged while using a lance), and will have the Killing Blow and Multiple Wounds (D3) rules as well in the first round of any combat.

This is one of the reasons why a Master on Dark Pegasus with lance and Cloak of Twilight (amongst other things) is so very powerful.

_________________
"The wrath of a good man is not to be feared. They have too many rules."

"Good men don't need rules. Today is not a good time to find out why I have so many."


Sat Jan 16, 2016 4:30 am
Profile
Slave on the Altar
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 11:04 pm
Posts: 2
Thank you for your quick response. That does make a powerful and over the top combination.


Sat Jan 16, 2016 12:52 pm
Profile
Miscast into the Warp
Miscast into the Warp
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 11:07 am
Posts: 3510
Location: Investigating Mantica
Ronir wrote:
Thank you for your quick response. That does make a powerful and over the top combination.


Powerful yes, very common load up for masters, not as often on lords though. Pegasus helps masters more than lords so more bang for your points. With a master you can only afford the cloak with no magic weapon so you need to pick and choose the charges as you need to break the opponent in one round. Second round combat you do not get the help any more.

_________________
My Kings of War Plog - Forces of Nature

My Kings of War Plog - Twilight Kin / Nightstalkers


Sat Jan 16, 2016 1:26 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software