Logo
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed May 23, 2018 10:22 pm



This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 3 posts ] 
Revised items: Clarifications and tweaks 
Author Message
Noble
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 9:04 am
Posts: 413
Location: Hengelo, The Netherlands
Hi,

While studying the new items and when playtesting them, I came across some minor problems:

When a Highborn with the Executioner's Axe and the Blood Armour causes a single wound which is multiplied to D3 wounds, does the Armour increase by one, or by the result of the D3?

How are the results of the Blade of Chill worked out against rank-and-file?
Maximum result: Two saved wounds and two unsaved wounds means to enemies killed, two enemies chilled.
or
You can only chill one enemy, as you are in combat with one enemy, and do not strike at others until this one is killed. Thus: one saved wound means one opponent chilled, two saved wounds also mean one opponent chilled.
Two unsaved wounds and one saved wound means two opponents killed, none chilled (the chilling wound is considered to be done to one of the dead guys)
This one might require a clarification in the rules.

Also, I've talked with a friend of mine with some of the smaller 'exceptions' in the revision rules. They don't always seem appropriate, and I think they should be left out:

Staff of Slavery:
Quote:
Each time the spell is dispelled, roll a D6. On a roll of 1, the power of the Staff has been exhausted and it may not be used for the rest of the battle.

I don't recall any other item that only becomes exhausted when dispelled. Somehow, this feels like we don't really want the 'drain-clause', and are trying to twist it so that it isn't too bad for us. I would make this a normal exhaustion: always roll a D6 when the Staff is used.

Rubric of Dark Dimensions (1 wound version):
Quote:
The amulet works on those in this life, and the undead in the next, as the undead also possess the necessary necromantic energy to animate their corpses.

By stating this, it realy feels like you want to get out under the 'undead have no souls rule'. If you leave this text out, there is no problem. (And perhaps it just shouldn't work on Undead; swap this description with the Steal Soul spell from Lore of Death)


Sat Apr 12, 2003 12:10 pm
Profile
Highborn
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 10:43 am
Posts: 711
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Post 
You are right on the staff of slavery, but on the other hand, have you seen the Book of Arkhan for VC?? Power level 3 exhaust on 1, 25 points. I would much rather have that, especially since it is a pretty good spell.

_________________
My Dark Elf Army Blog


Sat Apr 12, 2003 12:24 pm
Profile
Highborn
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2002 1:46 am
Posts: 686
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Post 
I think Purple is right.

_________________
"Prick your finger it is done
the moon has now eclypsed the sun
an angel has spread his wings
the time has come for bitter things"
-M.M


Mon Apr 14, 2003 7:56 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.   [ 3 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software