Logo
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 3:53 pm



Reply to topic  [ 53 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
assassin where put on the regiment need help here? 
Author Message
ok let's 20 corsair btb to with HE 20 spearmen at the start of close combat declares that unit has an assassin then izit replace the 1 model in front corsair with an assassin then that corsair put on the back izit become 21 model on the regiment is the correct way to do it

or

izit i have to put my corsair regiment with 19 model at the start of a battle?

i just understand how to applied assassin on the army


plz help me out here thanks


Sat Oct 12, 2002 3:48 am
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2002 10:35 pm
Posts: 1611
Location: Stuck in Salt Lake City
Post 
Okay, not sure I understand your post, but I'll try to help here...

I think you are asking how the assassin replaces. Well, he will take away one of the twenty corsairs and replace the model completely. This means that you will field the 20 corsairs with the assassin off to the side, and then when he is revealed you will REPLACE one of the corsairs with the assassin, leaving a unit with 19 corsairs and one assassin.

_________________
Well, time WOULD be nice...
And, Storm of Chaos is here. Are you ready?


Sat Oct 12, 2002 4:06 am
Profile YIM
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2002 3:22 pm
Posts: 3168
Post 
Yes, he just replaces one model. So you'll start with 20 corsairs and have 19 after he is revealed

Bye
Lord Thalack


Sat Oct 12, 2002 9:09 am
Profile
Noble
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2002 5:20 pm
Posts: 424
Location: Gardner,Massachusetts
Post 
Thalack is right, and I hate the rule. The assassin costs 125pts + whatever model he replaces(since it can't be used)

_________________
If you run, you'll just die tired


Tue Oct 15, 2002 7:08 am
Profile
Slave (off the Altar)
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 12:17 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Sweden
Post 
I´ve heard the opposite, the corsairs are still 20, the last one placed at the back of the formation.


Tue Oct 15, 2002 7:23 am
Profile
Noble
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2002 5:20 pm
Posts: 424
Location: Gardner,Massachusetts
Post 
GW's word "replaces" means just that...."takes the place of",so good bye corsair/spearmen/executioner etc.

_________________
If you run, you'll just die tired


Tue Oct 15, 2002 7:42 am
Profile
Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2002 3:48 pm
Posts: 68
Post 
Yep the assassin replaces the model, unlike skaven assassins :D


Tue Oct 15, 2002 8:05 am
Profile
Slave (off the Altar)
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 12:17 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Sweden
Post 
D**n!, someone explained it to me this way... to bad. And ofcourse it don´t apply to skaven, because DE are so much bet... we got shafted again, didn´t we?


Tue Oct 15, 2002 8:57 am
Profile
Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2002 10:48 am
Posts: 505
Location: around that way girl
Post 
lol, sorry but i thought that was funny

_________________
its not the lies that you say, but what the silence will scream


Tue Oct 15, 2002 9:05 am
Profile
Elf on the Altar with the Axe
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2002 12:19 am
Posts: 1042
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Post 
Another evil plan lurkes in my head.

Wait untill the unit suffers some casualties and remove one of the front models (as a casualty). Then reveal the assasin, without replacing a model, and hope that your oponent doesn't notice. :D :D

_________________
Diplomacy is the art of saying "Nice doggie!" untill you can find a big stick.

The Album is here for all your army photos - Album Moderator


Tue Oct 15, 2002 10:31 am
Profile
Witch Elf
Witch Elf
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2002 11:31 pm
Posts: 8090
Location: Toms River, NJ, USA
Post 
ElvenKnight wrote:
Another evil plan lurkes in my head.

Wait untill the unit suffers some casualties and remove one of the front models (as a casualty). Then reveal the assasin, without replacing a model, and hope that your oponent doesn't notice. :D :D


the only downside is that it is cheating LOL

_________________
General FAQ:
http://www.druchii.net/viewtopic.php?t=2504

FAQ about rules:
http://www.druchii.net/viewtopic.php?p=547809


Tue Oct 15, 2002 10:47 am
Profile
Dark Emissary
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2002 1:21 pm
Posts: 235
Location: Cophenhagen, Denmark...no, not Sweden but Denmark!
Post 
i dont think that this fact ever stopped a druchii from doing it...

_________________
Nobody expects the Spanish Inquisition! Not even You!!

Hilsen Sortelveren
www.hardwareHQ.dk


Tue Oct 15, 2002 2:25 pm
Profile WWW
Elf on the Altar with the Axe
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2002 12:19 am
Posts: 1042
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Post 
Linda wrote:
the only downside is that it is cheating LOL


So :roll: :roll:

_________________
Diplomacy is the art of saying "Nice doggie!" untill you can find a big stick.

The Album is here for all your army photos - Album Moderator


Wed Oct 16, 2002 10:34 am
Profile
Dark Rider
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 2:45 am
Posts: 141
Post 
Actually, if an assassin is revealed in a unit of 20 corsairs there will still be 20 corsairs left (21 models including the assassin). Look closely at the rule for hidden, it clearly states that a model is "displaced". There is no mention of the term "replace". Note that the wording for druchii assassins hidden deployment is virtually identical to the wording for skaven assassins (both rules use the term "displace"), the only difference is that the skaven rulebook offers further clarification perhaps as a direct result of the confusion that resulted from the identical DE rule.


Last edited by Knightsaber on Wed Oct 16, 2002 8:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Wed Oct 16, 2002 7:36 pm
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2002 10:35 pm
Posts: 1611
Location: Stuck in Salt Lake City
Post 
Umm, I believe GW has stated that it does replace the model.

And, yes, we DID get shafted again.

And, as I said on the GW forum when someone asked this question-where would they hide the assassin? In their pants? hmm... :twisted:

_________________
Well, time WOULD be nice...
And, Storm of Chaos is here. Are you ready?


Wed Oct 16, 2002 8:32 pm
Profile YIM
Dark Rider
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 2:45 am
Posts: 141
Post 
The same question could be asked of a skaven assassin. Where does he hide? One way to look at it is that they are not disguised but mearly hiding in the shadows nearby. Eitherway, I have not heard of any official clarification regarding this. Until you see one with your own eyes (preferably on the pages of wd or in an annual), I would go by the rules written in the army book.


Wed Oct 16, 2002 8:37 pm
Profile
Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 1:39 am
Posts: 67
Location: Sydney, Australia
Post 
KnightSaber wrote:
I would go by the rules written in the army book.


That is just it. The rule in the DE book is different from the rule in the Skaven book.

They might have intended them to be the saem but they quite clearly are not. GW have had several opportunities to make the rule clearer in there Q&A sheets and have not done so. This suggests that the rules are ment to be as written.

Regretably our Assasin does not displace the model to the rear ranks, or it would have said so. We loose the model.

_________________
"Video melior protoque, deteriora sequor"

Though I see what the better things are, even so I follow the worse.


Thu Oct 17, 2002 1:21 am
Profile
Beastmaster
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 2:33 pm
Posts: 366
Location: Arnheim
Post 
What the shiz is this :?: :!: :?:

I thought all along the assasin "replaces" the model!?

Ok I got mixed up with "deisplaced" and I'm getting quite mad now. :evil:

_________________
Life is like a piece of coco, u never knew who will get you.


Thu Oct 17, 2002 1:25 am
Profile ICQ
Evil Henchman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 12:50 am
Posts: 958
Location: Being a pseudo-mod
Post 
KnightSaber is right, i have the book in my hand, it clearly says "The player declares that his unit containes an Assassin and places the model amongst the ranks where he can fight, displacing a normal rank-and-file model."

_________________
"Intellectual brilliance is no guarantee against being dead wrong."
-Carl Sagan


Thu Oct 17, 2002 2:15 am
Profile
Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 1:39 am
Posts: 67
Location: Sydney, Australia
Post 
Decheran wrote:
KnightSaber is right, i have the book in my hand, it clearly says "The player declares that his unit containes an Assassin and places the model amongst the ranks where he can fight, displacing a normal rank-and-file model."


No, KnightSaber is wrong.

No where do you see the reference to replacing the rank and file model to another rank. If you read the Skaven book their Assasin clearly does this. The only reason to have the two rules different is if they are in fact different.

I agree the model displaced should go to the rear (or wherever), but unless you can see where it says this then it is only a 'I wish the rule really said'.
We can only go on what the rules allow us to do, not what we wish they would allow us to.

_________________
"Video melior protoque, deteriora sequor"

Though I see what the better things are, even so I follow the worse.


Thu Oct 17, 2002 2:40 am
Profile
Dark Rider
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 2:45 am
Posts: 141
Post 
walkerd- I beleive that you need to take another look at the army book. As Decheran confirmed the term used is "displaced" which is rather different in meaning than "replaced". I completely agree that one can only do what is explicity allowed by the rules. However, the exact wording of the rule for DE assassins is that they displace a model in the unit they are revealed in. Thus that is exactly what must be done. Once again, note that this is the exact same term used in the skaven army book.


Thu Oct 17, 2002 1:46 pm
Profile
Evil Henchman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 12:50 am
Posts: 958
Location: Being a pseudo-mod
Post 
How could i be wrong, i have a direct quote from the book, i mean really come to your sences, if the rules say something better than you thought, you should greedily except it

_________________
"Intellectual brilliance is no guarantee against being dead wrong."
-Carl Sagan


Fri Oct 18, 2002 1:27 am
Profile
Trainee Warrior

Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 2:41 am
Posts: 34
Sounds good to me.

More troops for me! bwahaha.

_________________
Long live Malekith, the Witch-King!
~RyantheGreat


Fri Oct 18, 2002 3:45 am
Profile ICQ
Black Guard
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 9:08 am
Posts: 251
Location: Sydney, Australia
Post 
it defiantly says displace

i checked just then

its a great rule it means in a unit with 15 models when assisian pops out you get + 3 rank bonus (if your frontage is 4

_________________
Master Of Toastopolis


Fri Oct 18, 2002 5:10 am
Profile ICQ
Beastmaster
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 2:33 pm
Posts: 366
Location: Arnheim
Post 
So is it displace or replace :?:

_________________
Life is like a piece of coco, u never knew who will get you.


Fri Oct 18, 2002 5:29 am
Profile ICQ
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 53 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software