Logo
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 3:00 pm



Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
interesting interpretation of hidden assassin 
Author Message
Witch Elf
Witch Elf
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2002 11:31 pm
Posts: 8090
Location: Toms River, NJ, USA
http://bbs.games-workshop.com/membershi ... ID=1065118

basically you put in a free model that is the assassin. :) like i do think it should be now that i think of it.

_________________
General FAQ:
http://www.druchii.net/viewtopic.php?t=2504

FAQ about rules:
http://www.druchii.net/viewtopic.php?p=547809


Sat Oct 19, 2002 11:16 am
Profile
Morathi's Favoured
Morathi's Favoured

Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2002 1:29 pm
Posts: 9709
Location: In the paintshop
Post 
Well done linda I think that should clear that up now


Sat Oct 19, 2002 11:43 am
Profile
Master of the Shadows
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 2:09 pm
Posts: 2198
Location: Dead and Buried
Post 
Cool - makes an assassin quite a bit cheaper.

_________________
www.youngwriterssociety.com/
www.justgoat.com
www.ld4all.com


Sat Oct 19, 2002 11:48 am
Profile
Witch Elf
Witch Elf
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2002 11:31 pm
Posts: 8090
Location: Toms River, NJ, USA
Post 
makes him a lot cheeper yes.

_________________
General FAQ:
http://www.druchii.net/viewtopic.php?t=2504

FAQ about rules:
http://www.druchii.net/viewtopic.php?p=547809


Sat Oct 19, 2002 12:30 pm
Profile
Noble
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2002 5:20 pm
Posts: 424
Location: Gardner,Massachusetts
Post 
Definitely makes a difference and worth considering using it more frequently

_________________
If you run, you'll just die tired


Sat Oct 19, 2002 1:00 pm
Profile
Rending Star
Rending Star
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 6:10 am
Posts: 5030
Location: Germany
Post 
I think this is wrong, tho. As long as the Assassin is not revealed, the unit is effectively 1 US below the size it should have and once you reveal it, the model in the position, where the Assassin appears, is displaced to the back rank.

Bye
Thanee


Last edited by Thanee on Sat Oct 19, 2002 1:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Sat Oct 19, 2002 1:15 pm
Profile
Noble
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2002 5:20 pm
Posts: 424
Location: Gardner,Massachusetts
Post 
I'd played it Thanee's way all along. I was excited because a GW moderator made the clarification. Is the answer A) moderators response, B) Thanee's belief on the rule, or C) it doesn't matter cuz it's still too expensive and I won't use him anyway........mwahahaha

_________________
If you run, you'll just die tired


Sat Oct 19, 2002 1:24 pm
Profile
Evil Henchman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 12:50 am
Posts: 958
Location: Being a pseudo-mod
Post 
D) you can use all of the above because the chances of your opponent knowing the exact rule is quite slim! go true druchii style

_________________
"Intellectual brilliance is no guarantee against being dead wrong."
-Carl Sagan


Sat Oct 19, 2002 5:10 pm
Profile
Master of the Shadows
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 2:09 pm
Posts: 2198
Location: Dead and Buried
Post 
E) claim he comes free with the unit.

_________________
www.youngwriterssociety.com/
www.justgoat.com
www.ld4all.com


Sat Oct 19, 2002 5:21 pm
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2002 3:22 pm
Posts: 3168
Post 
I also think the GW-guy is wrong.


Bye
Lord Thalack


Sat Oct 19, 2002 5:23 pm
Profile
Master of the Shadows
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 2:09 pm
Posts: 2198
Location: Dead and Buried
Post 
The GW guy just admitted that he was wrong.

_________________
www.youngwriterssociety.com/
www.justgoat.com
www.ld4all.com


Sat Oct 19, 2002 5:29 pm
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2002 3:22 pm
Posts: 3168
Post 
I must have missed that. Was there 5 minutes ago.


Bye
Lord Thalack


Sat Oct 19, 2002 5:33 pm
Profile
Master of the Shadows
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 2:09 pm
Posts: 2198
Location: Dead and Buried
Post 
He's only just posted it.

_________________
www.youngwriterssociety.com/
www.justgoat.com
www.ld4all.com


Sat Oct 19, 2002 5:37 pm
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2002 3:22 pm
Posts: 3168
Post 
Looks like the french book says something different from the english version


Bye
Lord Thalack


Sat Oct 19, 2002 5:37 pm
Profile
Master of the Shadows
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 2:09 pm
Posts: 2198
Location: Dead and Buried
Post 
I wonder why?Perhaps the translator mucked up?
If anyone comes from french here - I don't surpose you could tell us what the book says?

_________________
www.youngwriterssociety.com/
www.justgoat.com
www.ld4all.com


Sat Oct 19, 2002 5:41 pm
Profile
Master of the Red Legion
Master of the Red Legion
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2002 1:06 pm
Posts: 7037
Location: Land of Chill
Post 
I'd like to set this assassin thing to rest. Assassins displace, I say again, DISPLACE, a normal trooper. This is not replace in any shape or form. They move along with the unit, along not as part of it. You also PLACE the model in the unit. The rules say nothing about taking anohter model out. You are all too hung up on the disguise ability of the assassin. He's not going to wear heavy armour or a sea dragon cloak no is he? Hard to remove that heavy armour disguise in mid battle now isn't it? Your suggestion is a good one, but completely unecessary as he just appears from the shadows of the unit and unleashes death upon his foes. Something that is much more in character with the assassin.


Sat Oct 19, 2002 7:00 pm
Profile WWW
Dark Emissary
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2002 1:21 pm
Posts: 235
Location: Cophenhagen, Denmark...no, not Sweden but Denmark!
Post 
yes, thats the way it should be done

_________________
Nobody expects the Spanish Inquisition! Not even You!!

Hilsen Sortelveren
www.hardwareHQ.dk


Sat Oct 19, 2002 7:07 pm
Profile WWW
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 11:51 pm
Posts: 2025
Location: Felixstowe, England
Post 
I've had this discussion many a time and the true answer is always the same.
As vorchild said, an assasin diplaces, not replaces a model. Saying that, it's pretty obvious if you run a unit around with amodel short on the back rank, where he is. Although I have used this tactic, without an Assaisn as it makes your oppo think ones there!
The truth is, an Assasin isn't worth 125 points anyway. A Cold One Chariot (with spears) and an extra Dark rider will do far more damage than an Assasin and for less points.
In fact forget the dark Rider, just the chariot will do more. try rolling dice for a Corsair charge with an Assasin and then compare it to a Corsair and Chariot charge. Forget the Assasin, his only use is to be left as a spectator at the side of the board, so your oppo thinks you have one.

_________________
The Word of Pain

Most heard comment at UK GT...
"Please, not Wood Elves again..."


Sat Oct 19, 2002 10:54 pm
Profile
Malekith's Tastetester & Physician
Malekith's Tastetester & Physician
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2002 9:41 pm
Posts: 5170
Location: Putting needles into people.
Post 
Vorchild wrote:
I'd like to set this assassin thing to rest. Assassins displace, I say again, DISPLACE, a normal trooper. This is not replace in any shape or form. They move along with the unit, along not as part of it. You also PLACE the model in the unit. The rules say nothing about taking anohter model out. You are all too hung up on the disguise ability of the assassin. He's not going to wear heavy armour or a sea dragon cloak no is he? Hard to remove that heavy armour disguise in mid battle now isn't it? Your suggestion is a good one, but completely unecessary as he just appears from the shadows of the unit and unleashes death upon his foes. Something that is much more in character with the assassin.


I've been playing it since we had this discussion that the guy is removed and his points never counted. It makes sense either way, so let the fun begin. I am glad they finally clarified this.

Makes me happy for the DE, but I'll rarely use the assassin in a game anyhow.

_________________
While running a million dollar company, singing at weddings, and his frequent jetting to Spain Elton Jon style, Dark Alliance found the time to stand on the doorstep of Games Workshop like Moses and the Pharoah and calmly state, "Let my people go."


Sun Oct 20, 2002 2:24 am
Profile
Evil Henchman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 12:50 am
Posts: 958
Location: Being a pseudo-mod
Post 
i guess i set that strait (i post, if you could call it posting i go on about once a month, under dougman (its a really old name, the lameness is well known to me)) anway this ne moderator seems to be an actual moderator who posts under things

_________________
"Intellectual brilliance is no guarantee against being dead wrong."
-Carl Sagan


Sun Oct 20, 2002 2:58 am
Profile
Corsair
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2002 2:46 am
Posts: 79
Post 
This is actually quite an important discussion for me anyways, because if I have my assassin in a unit of corsairs, let's say it will be 24 strong. So that's 265 points with full command, if i have an assassin, who is hidden as a corsair....does that then mean i only pay 255 because one of the corsairs is a model i have already paid for? That would be good,and it makes sense when you think about, because the assassin is REPLACING THE MODEL, NOT DISPLACING???????????WHO KNOWS WITH GOD DAMN GAV THORPE AND HIS HENCHMEN.....OH NO THEY ARE WATCHING ME RIGHT NOW .....ACCKKKK .....ARRRRRGGGHHHHHHH

_________________
All Hail Lord Katan, The New Prince of Arnheim


Tue Oct 22, 2002 4:39 am
Profile ICQ
Highborn
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2002 2:31 am
Posts: 725
Location: Northamptonshire
Post 
The way i've read it and all ways used it is like this.

You buy a unit of corsairs 16 strong with full command, you place said unit on the table with 16 models all corsair. you reveal the assassin Displacing the only none command model in the front rank to the back rank(which in this example happens to be a new rank of one model) end result is a unit now with 17 models in it.

My copy of the rule book say's Displace, that to me means move not replace.

If you still cannot quite get it think of a term used in boat sizes, they refer to a DISPLACEment value in terms of how much water they force out of it's place and moved elsewhere the water dosen't just vanish in to thin air. Thus think of the assassin having a displacement value of one model.

Hopfully that solve's it

_________________
I'd rather lose a closely fought game then have it all sown up in a couple of turns.

Strangely, been here longer than most of the Admin staff.......


Last edited by Shockwave on Tue Oct 22, 2002 5:10 am, edited 1 time in total.



Tue Oct 22, 2002 5:06 am
Profile
Dark Emissary
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2002 1:21 pm
Posts: 235
Location: Cophenhagen, Denmark...no, not Sweden but Denmark!
Post 
sounds right to me

_________________
Nobody expects the Spanish Inquisition! Not even You!!

Hilsen Sortelveren
www.hardwareHQ.dk


Tue Oct 22, 2002 5:09 am
Profile WWW
High Sorcerer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2002 6:55 am
Posts: 1309
Location: Clar Karond
Post 
Linda wrote:
makes him a lot cheeper yes.


What? 10pts? Nope, mine is still sitting on the shelf. Going to tkae a lot more than that to pry me from that stance.

_________________
Image
Putting the FUN back into fundamentalism since 1998


Tue Oct 22, 2002 5:27 am
Profile WWW
High Sorcerer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2002 6:55 am
Posts: 1309
Location: Clar Karond
Post 
Shockwave wrote:
The way i've read it and all ways used it is like this.

You buy a unit of corsairs 16 strong with full command, you place said unit on the table with 16 models all corsair. you reveal the assassin Displacing the only none command model in the front rank to the back rank(which in this example happens to be a new rank of one model) end result is a unit now with 17 models in it.

My copy of the rule book say's Displace, that to me means move not replace.

If you still cannot quite get it think of a term used in boat sizes, they refer to a DISPLACEment value in terms of how much water they force out of it's place and moved elsewhere the water dosen't just vanish in to thin air. Thus think of the assassin having a displacement value of one model.

Hopfully that solve's it


Yeah, this is what displacement means. How I always played it too. Some people seem to think its backwards though.

_________________
Image
Putting the FUN back into fundamentalism since 1998


Tue Oct 22, 2002 5:29 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software