Logo
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:28 pm



Reply to topic  [ 96 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
New DE armybook RULES analysis 
Author Message
Corsair
Corsair
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 10:00 pm
Posts: 8564
Location: Hag Graef
Welcome ZaiLH to D.net.

# 2 answer is clearly a). Read Warlock AB entry p.41, which says the same as BRB p.499.

#1 & 3 requires some rule analysis, and conclusions are not necessarily accepted by everyone.
Harpoon is described in AB p.38.
It says it is a Bolt Thrower (BT) which can move. Because of that, all rules BRB p.111 about BT apply, unless specifically superseded.
In addition, there are other differences between BT and Harpoon:
- Special rules are different, and in particular, "ignore armour saves" is lost for Harpoon.
- Harpoon belongs to troop type "chariot", not "warmachines". Because of that, warmachines rules BRB p.109 do NOT apply, use rather chariot rules BRB p.86.

Because Harpoon is NOT a warmachine weapon, it has NOT 360° LOS but is limited to 90° front arc.
However, because it is NOT a warmachine, the LOS and the 24" start from the chariot's front base (see BRB p.6), NOT from the harpoon itself.

The High Beastmaster comes with a much improved BS (7 instead of 4), which of course will be used by the model, because AB p.87 tells that the HBM replaces one handler, so let's replace the one hanlding the Harpoon.

_________________
Winds never stop blowing, Oceans are borderless. Get a ship and a crew, so the World will be ours! Today the World, tomorrow Nagg! {--|oBrotherhood of the Coast!o|--}


Thu Feb 13, 2014 10:56 pm
Profile
Dragon Lord
Dragon Lord
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2002 6:42 pm
Posts: 9664
Location: Designing new breeds of Dragons
1) It's front arc, due to being a chariot. It can not pivot before shooting like a war machine (because it's a chariot) so make sure you point it at intended target in movement phase.

2) a. you get to take the #3 spell as Warlocks have no choice in spells and don't count against the maximum of 1 copy of non-signature spell per wizard

3) GW loves being tricky with their rules of chariots that are war machines. The troop type is chariot and you follow those rules. So measure from the front of the model's base (but if you like to measure from the harpoon, which is about 2" behind the front of the base, just let your opponent know before hand. You're not gaining any advantage by doing so)

_________________
7th edition army book:
Games Played: 213
Games Won: 114 (54%)
Games Drawn: 33 (15%)
Games Lost: 66 (31%)

8th Edition army book W/D/L:
Druchii: 36/4/16


Fri Feb 14, 2014 12:11 am
Profile
Warrior

Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 4:29 am
Posts: 53
Location: West-By_God_Virginia
Just noticed a rule that I have to believe is going to be FAQ'd whenever it comes out.

Cold Ones as character mounts and Cold One Knights have the Stupidity rule.
Cold one Chariots do not have this rule? Accidental omission or on purpose?


Wed Feb 19, 2014 9:01 pm
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 7:36 pm
Posts: 3831
Location: Belgium, Brussels
It's written clearly on their profile in my book o.O
pg 93

_________________
I love me a bowl of numbers to crunch for breakfast. If you need anything theoryhammered, I gladly take requests.

Furnace of Arcana, a warhammer blog with delusional grandeur.

"I move unseen. I hide in light and shadow. I move faster than a bird. No plate of armour ever stopped me. I strike recruits and veterans with equal ease. And all shiver at my coldest of whispers."
- The stiff breeze


Wed Feb 19, 2014 9:25 pm
Profile WWW
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 4:47 am
Posts: 1042
Daeron wrote:
It's written clearly on their profile in my book o.O
pg 93



I bet he has an I-Pad version.

1) Another rule question. A Dreadlord is mounted in a chariot. Archers fire. 1-4 hit chariot, 5-6 hit crew. Then you further randomize between other crewman and Dreadlord? So essentially 1-5 hit the chariot and only 6s hit the Dreadlord?


2) For armor does the Dreadlord START at the chariot's armor save (3+) and then go down per piece of protective equipment and being mounted? So he essentially has a 1+ from his normal gear?


Wed Feb 19, 2014 9:57 pm
Profile
Noble
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 9:28 pm
Posts: 455
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
No it's 1-4 for the chariot (and crew), 5-6 hit the character.

No, just as any normal mounted character. That means 6+ AS (like a dark steed).

_________________
W/D/L:
12/2/5


Tactical Thoughts
Modelling Madness
War-Cup Reports


Wed Feb 19, 2014 10:00 pm
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 4:47 am
Posts: 1042
Gerner wrote:
No it's 1-4 for the chariot (and crew), 5-6 hit the character.



Per the brb it says Chariot mounts work just like monster mounts. It says on the rare occasion a monster mount has more than one rider you further randomize between the two riders. So in a chariot it would seem you randomize between the two riders (one being a character)? I can't find anything in the FAQ to contradict it.


Wed Feb 19, 2014 10:32 pm
Profile
Highborn
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 3:55 pm
Posts: 647
Location: Sweden
Gidean wrote:
Gerner wrote:
No it's 1-4 for the chariot (and crew), 5-6 hit the character.



Per the brb it says Chariot mounts work just like monster mounts. It says on the rare occasion a monster mount has more than one rider you further randomize between the two riders. So in a chariot it would seem you randomize between the two riders (one being a character)? I can't find anything in the FAQ to contradict it.


crew are considered to be part of a chariot though, not seperate from it.

e.g. they are technically not riding it, they are part of the chariot itself.

_________________

My Hobby Thread

Stats since I started playing again in 2013
W/L/D
Total: 16/21/1
vs. Demons: 0/2/0
vs. Dwarfs: 1/2/0
vs. Empire: 2/4/0
vs. High Elves: 0/4/0
vs. Lizardmen: 3/0/0
vs. Orcs & Goblins: 3/0/1
vs. Ogres: 1/0/0
vs. Skaven: 4/4/0
vs. Tomb Kings: 0/1/0
vs. Warriors of Chaos: 0/3/0
vs. Wood Elves: 2/1/0


Wed Feb 19, 2014 10:50 pm
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 4:47 am
Posts: 1042
Liquidedust wrote:
Gidean wrote:
Gerner wrote:
No it's 1-4 for the chariot (and crew), 5-6 hit the character.



Per the brb it says Chariot mounts work just like monster mounts. It says on the rare occasion a monster mount has more than one rider you further randomize between the two riders. So in a chariot it would seem you randomize between the two riders (one being a character)? I can't find anything in the FAQ to contradict it.


crew are considered to be part of a chariot though, not seperate from it.

e.g. they are technically not riding it, they are part of the chariot itself.



So nobody plays it that the rule of randomizing between the riders comes into effect?


Wed Feb 19, 2014 11:52 pm
Profile
Dragon Lord
Dragon Lord
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2002 6:42 pm
Posts: 9664
Location: Designing new breeds of Dragons
The only mount with multiple riders is the wood elf special character sisters on a dragon.

_________________
7th edition army book:
Games Played: 213
Games Won: 114 (54%)
Games Drawn: 33 (15%)
Games Lost: 66 (31%)

8th Edition army book W/D/L:
Druchii: 36/4/16


Thu Feb 20, 2014 4:20 am
Profile
Shade

Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 8:39 pm
Posts: 112
No there are others with multiple riders such as the Stegadon, Bastiladon, Aracknorok, etc. But those are monsters and not chariots.


Mon Feb 24, 2014 8:48 pm
Profile
Dragon Lord
Dragon Lord
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2002 6:42 pm
Posts: 9664
Location: Designing new breeds of Dragons
The "riders" on those monsters you listed can't be killed separately.

_________________
7th edition army book:
Games Played: 213
Games Won: 114 (54%)
Games Drawn: 33 (15%)
Games Lost: 66 (31%)

8th Edition army book W/D/L:
Druchii: 36/4/16


Tue Feb 25, 2014 6:01 am
Profile
Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2002 1:09 pm
Posts: 521
Location: 7th Tower of Har Ganneth
would shades with 2hw (or exeutionairs) with light asf-spell strike with ASFx2 - ASL = ASF ;)

_________________
”Fear in hearts, Fear in eyes, Fear is all before they die."


Fri Mar 14, 2014 7:27 pm
Profile
Dragon Lord
Dragon Lord
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2002 6:42 pm
Posts: 9664
Location: Designing new breeds of Dragons
No, special rules don't stack.

_________________
7th edition army book:
Games Played: 213
Games Won: 114 (54%)
Games Drawn: 33 (15%)
Games Lost: 66 (31%)

8th Edition army book W/D/L:
Druchii: 36/4/16


Fri Mar 14, 2014 8:48 pm
Profile
Trainee Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 8:00 pm
Posts: 35
Executioner_of_khaine wrote:
Just noticed a rule that I have to believe is going to be FAQ'd whenever it comes out.

Cold Ones as character mounts and Cold One Knights have the Stupidity rule.
Cold one Chariots do not have this rule? Accidental omission or on purpose?


Check p.42 of the DE book, bottom right corner. It's immediately after Murderous Prowess.

_________________
W/L/D
0/0/1


Fri Mar 28, 2014 2:41 am
Profile
Noble

Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 6:48 pm
Posts: 466
I have a question. um sure i did it read somewhere but i cant find it.

If a Charakter gets Frenzy by any effect, like Tullaris or Witchbrew, and leaving the unit. Does he still have frenzy or does he lose it when he leaving the unit?


Tue Apr 22, 2014 11:05 am
Profile
Corsair
Corsair
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 10:00 pm
Posts: 8564
Location: Hag Graef
When the character leaves the source of Frenzy, he ceases to be frenzied.
It might be not that clear for the toughest rule lawyers, but for everyone else, that's how it goes.

_________________
Winds never stop blowing, Oceans are borderless. Get a ship and a crew, so the World will be ours! Today the World, tomorrow Nagg! {--|oBrotherhood of the Coast!o|--}


Tue Apr 22, 2014 11:15 am
Profile
Noble

Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 6:48 pm
Posts: 466
Calisson wrote:
When the character leaves the source of Frenzy, he ceases to be frenzied.
It might be not that clear for the toughest rule lawyers, but for everyone else, that's how it goes.


Thanks for the info. :)


Mon May 12, 2014 1:29 pm
Profile
Slave (off the Altar)
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 10:39 am
Posts: 11
Location: Wisconsin (Madison area)
Gidean wrote:
Gerner wrote:
No it's 1-4 for the chariot (and crew), 5-6 hit the character.



Per the brb it says Chariot mounts work just like monster mounts. It says on the rare occasion a monster mount has more than one rider you further randomize between the two riders. So in a chariot it would seem you randomize between the two riders (one being a character)?.

only for a character not the crew. You have quoted from the "Character mount" section page 105, not "chariot" section page 86.
If you go to page 86 it should clear up the crew not being seperate.
sorry for the late post , but I found this interesting.


Mon Jun 02, 2014 1:50 pm
Profile
Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2002 1:09 pm
Posts: 521
Location: 7th Tower of Har Ganneth
Hmm, sorry for posting it here, but here it would be fine.

So, shades are skirmishers, and skirmishers now in 8th move like normal troops, just spaced. How are they shooting? Only 2 ranks, or only those models with have LOS? In 7th Deathstar was shooting all at once for example 50 shades, now most would not have LOS to target, or I'm wrong?

_________________
”Fear in hearts, Fear in eyes, Fear is all before they die."


Thu Sep 04, 2014 12:37 am
Profile
Dragon Lord
Dragon Lord
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2002 6:42 pm
Posts: 9664
Location: Designing new breeds of Dragons
Skirmishers shoot like any other shooting unit, 2 ranks and LoS/front arc is measured on a per model basis but only front rank is used (2nd rank uses LoS and front arc of the model directly in front of them)

_________________
7th edition army book:
Games Played: 213
Games Won: 114 (54%)
Games Drawn: 33 (15%)
Games Lost: 66 (31%)

8th Edition army book W/D/L:
Druchii: 36/4/16


Thu Sep 04, 2014 2:43 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 96 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software