The End Times lists and 50% lord/hero allowance.

How to beat those cowardly High Elves?

Moderators: Layne, The Dread Knights

Dalamar
Dragon Lord
Dragon Lord

The End Times lists and 50% lord/hero allowance.

Post by Dalamar »

So I've been trying to create a few end times list, taking advantage of the expanded lords and heroes allowance and every time I encounter the same problem.

Once I have my characters and my combat troops down... i find i have no room left for support units that aren't core. So no reapers, no scourgerunners, no shades or harpies... I just barely manage to squeeze in a minimal unit of warlocks.

And those lists don't even contain any dragons!
7th edition army book:
Games Played: 213
Games Won: 114 (54%)
Games Drawn: 33 (15%)
Games Lost: 66 (31%)

8th Edition army book W/D/L:
Druchii: 36/4/16
Amboadine
Miscast into the Warp
Miscast into the Warp

Re: The End Times lists and 50% lord/hero allowance.

Post by Amboadine »

That will be the issue. Especially at lower points levels where you need to include you 3 units as a minimum requirement.
I think with a certain number of armies the lists will be pretty similar to the current. I know sometimes I would have loved 26% to optimise a load out.
50% maxed will probably be fairly rare in powerful balanced builds.
Vulcan
Malekith's Best Friend

Post by Vulcan »

That's the problem with the new rule. For armies where the characters do the heavy lifting, it's wonderful, especially if they have strong core. The armies that depend on their special and rare choices see no benefit from it.

And thus if further unbalances an already unbalanced game.
Haagrum
PhD in Dark Magic

Post by Haagrum »

I think that the main change we'll see over time is armies with 30%-40% Lords, taking advantage of the extra room to fit in fully-kitted characters rather than half-equipped ones to fit under the points cap.