Logo
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 3:23 pm



Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
can I take the sea dragon cloak with cloak of twilight? 
Author Message
Slave (off the Altar)

Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2014 8:30 pm
Posts: 13
People keep calling me on it .I do take them both.so why is it legal? Or am I wrong. .


Tue Nov 04, 2014 1:04 pm
Profile
Dragon Lord
Dragon Lord
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2002 6:42 pm
Posts: 9664
Location: Designing new breeds of Dragons
It's perfectly fine and keeps you extra warm in the cold winters of Naggaroth.

_________________
7th edition army book:
Games Played: 213
Games Won: 114 (54%)
Games Drawn: 33 (15%)
Games Lost: 66 (31%)

8th Edition army book W/D/L:
Druchii: 36/4/16


Tue Nov 04, 2014 1:08 pm
Profile
Killed by Khorne
Killed by Khorne
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 3:51 pm
Posts: 2800
Location: Hinterlands of Khuresh; The Lost City of the Angels
Is it possible to wear two or more jumpers at the same time?

Yes it is.


Conclusive proof.

Or see BRB p173 'What's in a Name?'

For additional clarity: Sea Dragon Cloak is mundane armour, Cloak of Twihard is an Enchanted Item. If the Cloak was magic armour there would be a conflict ...but it is not ;)

_________________
OldHammer Advanced Ruleset
- Adding Tactical Depth to Your Favourite Tabletop Wargame


Tue Nov 04, 2014 1:23 pm
Profile
Slave (off the Altar)

Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2014 8:30 pm
Posts: 13
Sweet!


Tue Nov 04, 2014 4:03 pm
Profile
Chosen of Khaine
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 7:35 am
Posts: 416
Location: London
It does create modelling/conversion challenges for the OCD/literal minded like myself!

_________________
Veysha Everkiss
Plog: Veysha Everkiss and the Clan of the Shadow Fox
Battle Reports: vs. Beastmen; 2000 pts, vs. High Elves; 2000 pts, vs. Beastmen; 3000 pts


Tue Nov 04, 2014 6:52 pm
Profile WWW
Miscast into the Warp
Miscast into the Warp
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 11:07 am
Posts: 3510
Location: Investigating Mantica
flatworldsedge wrote:
It does create modelling/conversion challenges for the OCD/literal minded like myself!


Well it is described in the book as being all but invisible, so you have a little leeway in modelling :)

_________________
My Kings of War Plog - Forces of Nature

My Kings of War Plog - Twilight Kin / Nightstalkers


Tue Nov 04, 2014 7:14 pm
Profile
Trainee Warrior

Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 4:13 am
Posts: 29
Since it's supposedly made of hair, you could always model it after every Japanese horror movie/game ghost ever. =D


Tue Nov 04, 2014 7:35 pm
Profile
Generalissimo
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 3:09 pm
Posts: 3673
Location: Baltimore
You could model the cloak like a bull fighter's cape...

_________________
"While all answers are replies, not all replies are answers. So answer the question."

Don't be a munchkin?

Image

I am an Extraordinary Druchii Gentleman


Tue Nov 04, 2014 10:36 pm
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 2:28 am
Posts: 1719
Location: California
You can say they are one in the same visualy and fluff wise.

_________________
Who needs sanity? I have a Hydra


Wed Nov 05, 2014 1:53 am
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:46 pm
Posts: 1177
Location: The Depths of Despair
Actually, in reply to T.D.'s otherwise excellent post, nowhere is is stated that a sea dragon cloak is a mundane armor... If it was, then heavy armor and sea dragon cloak would not stack - but they do stack, evidence: in all our character's entries, they have an option to take both, not either/or.

The item description simply states: "This confers the scaly skin (5+) special rule".

So, in combining SDC and Cloak of Twilight: what T.D. said, except SDC isnt even mundane armor. Its just a 'nondescript' item (well its obviously a cloak ;) )

_________________
Name: Ladry (female)
Class: Mage (Pyromancer)
Equipment: Staff, longsword, dagger, 20 gold, insignia ring.
Skills: Power of Aqshy (2), defensive figthing
WS4, S2, T3, D4, I6.


Wed Nov 05, 2014 7:35 am
Profile
Generalissimo
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 3:09 pm
Posts: 3673
Location: Baltimore
A very astute observation Thaundril :)

Give the cloak of twilight and a sacrificial dagger to a supreme sorceress - voila: a bonafide cloak and dagger character ;)

_________________
"While all answers are replies, not all replies are answers. So answer the question."

Don't be a munchkin?

Image

I am an Extraordinary Druchii Gentleman


Wed Nov 05, 2014 12:07 pm
Profile
Killed by Khorne
Killed by Khorne
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 3:51 pm
Posts: 2800
Location: Hinterlands of Khuresh; The Lost City of the Angels
It provides an armour saving throw. Hence armour.

It is neither a magical save nor a magic item. Hence mundane.

But splitting hairs aside it's not an Enchanted Item, which is the main thing :P

Quote:
Give the cloak of twilight and a sacrificial dagger to a supreme sorceress - voila: a bonafide cloak and dagger character ;)


Not very optimal but worth playing at least once for the lulz :mrgreen:

_________________
OldHammer Advanced Ruleset
- Adding Tactical Depth to Your Favourite Tabletop Wargame


Wed Nov 05, 2014 12:39 pm
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:46 pm
Posts: 1177
Location: The Depths of Despair
In my opinion, still no T.D. :p

Providing an armour saving throw does not necessarily make an item a piece of armour. For instance: put a sorcerer on a dark steed or a cold one will give her a 6+ or 5+ armour saving throw. Is the horse a piece of armour? I'd say no ;)

But also... SDC does not provide an armour saving throw. The sea dragon cloak confers a special rule - the scaly skin special rule, to be precise. The special rule confers the armour saving throw, not the item itself... Unlike the chaos armour, which confers a 4+ armour save directly. While scaly skin gives an armor save, it is not in itself armour. A lizardman kroxigor has a scaly skin armour save, but is not wearing armour.

So I'd still argue that the sea dragon cloak is just a mundane item with no specific 'type'.

_________________
Name: Ladry (female)
Class: Mage (Pyromancer)
Equipment: Staff, longsword, dagger, 20 gold, insignia ring.
Skills: Power of Aqshy (2), defensive figthing
WS4, S2, T3, D4, I6.


Wed Nov 05, 2014 1:03 pm
Profile
Killed by Khorne
Killed by Khorne
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 3:51 pm
Posts: 2800
Location: Hinterlands of Khuresh; The Lost City of the Angels
BRB P. 179.

We'll have to agree to disagree.

_________________
OldHammer Advanced Ruleset
- Adding Tactical Depth to Your Favourite Tabletop Wargame


Wed Nov 05, 2014 1:13 pm
Profile
Lord of the Dragon Caves
Lord of the Dragon Caves
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2003 6:34 pm
Posts: 8372
Location: The Dragon Caves of the Underway (Indianapolis IN)
T.D. wrote:
But splitting hairs aside it's not an Enchanted Item, which is the main thing :P


Exactly. If there is no game effect based on the issue, why is it being argued?

_________________
Truly These are the End Times ...


Wed Nov 05, 2014 1:36 pm
Profile WWW
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 4:47 am
Posts: 1042
Dalamar wrote:
It's perfectly fine and keeps you extra warm in the cold winters of Naggaroth.


LOL! !lol!


Thu Nov 06, 2014 3:01 pm
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 4:47 am
Posts: 1042
Wow has this thread derailed or what?

MOD's edit:
indeed.
Derailed posts moved to BRB = ???.
Calisson


Wed Nov 12, 2014 4:40 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 17 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software