Strategy Help

How to beat those cowardly High Elves?

Moderators: Layne, The Dread Knights

rogue1009
Slave on the Altar

Strategy Help

Post by rogue1009 »

Hello,
Newbie here, i have built an army based on the 8th edition i believe, some friends and i are starting a campaign style game. We are going to have some skirmishes to get us used to the rules etc. We have been limited to 1000 points
so i have got the following
20 dreadspears
10 crossbow men
5 Dark riders
5 cold one knights
1 dread lord on a cold one
1 sorceress on a cold one

What would be the best tactics to use say to fight vamps and chaos???

My initial plan was to try and lure them in with dark riders then hammer them with coldness while the spears keep them busy.

!mad! !mad! !mad! !mad! !mad! !mad!
Daeron
Malekith's Best Friend

Re: Strategy Help

Post by Daeron »

It's a nice start for a fun army. It lacks a bit of punch, but the characters can make up for that. Although it's going to be a tight fit for both characters.
For the dreadlord, you could start by giving him heavy armour and a sea dragon cloak, then the dawnstone from the big rulebook. Depending the points left, you can give him either a great weapon, or a magical weapon as you prefer.
The sorceress could be a force to reckon with if she has a lore with direct damage, like fire or Dark Magic. I would just give her a dispel scroll to keep her cheap and on the side of the unit to minimize the number of models that can attack her. Dark magic is preferable but a little more complex.
I love me a bowl of numbers to crunch for breakfast. If you need anything theoryhammered, I gladly take requests.

Furnace of Arcana, a warhammer blog with delusional grandeur.

"I move unseen. I hide in light and shadow. I move faster than a bird. No plate of armour ever stopped me. I strike recruits and veterans with equal ease. And all shiver at my coldest of whispers."
- The stiff breeze
rogue1009
Slave on the Altar

Post by rogue1009 »