Logo
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Jul 19, 2018 2:00 am



This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 138 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Druchii Warband Revision - Pre-Beta Release 
Author Message
Follower of Malal
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 6:37 pm
Posts: 2726
Location: Colchester, Essex (UK).
Post 
Since the whole sacrifice thing is something I want to test, Druchii who capture prisoners can either sacrifice them to Khaine if they have a witch elf in the warband as only she knows the proper rituals (+1XP to the leader) or send them back to the ark to increase their personal fortune - it is what they came for, after all - (sell them for whatever Skaven can sell them for). This is for triple-3 prisoners; regular prisoners (ones captured from enemy rosters) offer the extra possibility of negociating as usual.

_________________
General Kala wrote:
Cenyu wrote:
Hail to the King, baby.
All my eloquence fails to express it as well as this.


Thu Jun 01, 2006 10:38 am
Profile
Warband Noble
Warband Noble
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 6:06 am
Posts: 613
Location: Praag
Post 
1) Why +1 XP? Possessed get +D3 (several prisoners) and can distribute them at will.
2) So no free experienced henchman? It is quite important for me now, because our campaign got prolonged and the 3-3-3 roll coud give me a free replacement for my dead shade - probably in form of third experienced witch elf...

What ever the result, could you add it to warband rules? I think that it should be there for similar reasons as the list of hired swords.


Thu Jun 01, 2006 8:10 pm
Profile
Follower of Malal
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 6:37 pm
Posts: 2726
Location: Colchester, Essex (UK).
Post 
1) By +1XP I meant "usual XP gain" (since sacrifying a captured enemy model is +1XP).

2) Escorting prisoners, for a Druchii? Not really fluffy.

I'll add it to the warband rules eventually, then. Probably tomorrow (too tired to figure wording out tonight).

_________________
General Kala wrote:
Cenyu wrote:
Hail to the King, baby.
All my eloquence fails to express it as well as this.


Thu Jun 01, 2006 8:23 pm
Profile
Warband Noble
Warband Noble
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 6:06 am
Posts: 613
Location: Praag
Post 
A neutral shade of black. wrote:
2) Escorting prisoners, for a Druchii? Not really fluffy.

Ruthlessly pragmatic ;-) Especially if one of them is experienced witch elf...

OK. I will forget about free WE with A2 and WS5 and consider advantages of money and experience...


Thu Jun 01, 2006 9:35 pm
Profile
Warband Noble
Warband Noble
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 6:06 am
Posts: 613
Location: Praag
Post 
Rules question: If I cast Word of Pain on Sigmarite Augur, how are all the rerolls resolved?


Thu Jun 08, 2006 9:10 am
Profile
Follower of Malal
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 6:37 pm
Posts: 2726
Location: Colchester, Essex (UK).
Post 
Since you can never reroll a reroll, the "house rule" that most people go by is that two "enemy" rerolls cancel each other out. That means an Augur affected by Word of Pain doesn't get to reroll her To Hits.

_________________
General Kala wrote:
Cenyu wrote:
Hail to the King, baby.
All my eloquence fails to express it as well as this.


Thu Jun 08, 2006 9:21 am
Profile
Slave (off the Altar)

Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 11:34 am
Posts: 10
Location: Sembach AB, Germany
Post 
Quote:
Trained Slavehounds may use the basic Leadership of the Beastmaster if they are within 6" of him. They may never use the Leadership of the warband leader, but they may benefit from the Beastmaster’s increased Leadership if he is within 6" of the leader. Since Slavehounds are still wild creatures and their fighting spirit is what makes them so precious, any Slavehound too far away from its master will often refuse to obey orders. As such, a Slavehound out of the Beastmaster’s control radius suffer from the Stupidity special rule.


This seems kind of confusing. It starts off saying it uses the Beastmasters LD, which seems to imply he makes Stupidity checks every turn. But at the end it states he only makes them if outside of 6" of the beastmaster.

If the Slavehound only makes Stupidity checks if more than 6 inches away from the leader, maybe something like:

Trained:Slavehounds are wild creatures who have a ferocious fighting spirit, but need careful supervision or they are as likely to attack an enemy as stop to gnaw on a stray bone or wander off randomly. Unless a Beastmaster is within 6" of the Slavehound at the start of their turn, Slavehounds are subject to the rules for Stupidity

However, if it wa sintended they always make Stupidity checks as originally,

Trained:Slavehounds are wild creatures who have a ferocious fighting spirit, but need careful supervision or they are as likely to attack an enemy as stop to gnaw on a stray bone or wander off randomly. Slavehounds are subject to the rules for Stupidity. If a Slavehound is within 6" of a Beastmaster, it may use the Beastmasters Leadership for this test. They do not gain any benefit from the Leader ability.


Last edited by Ninale on Wed Sep 27, 2006 10:05 am, edited 1 time in total.



Tue Sep 26, 2006 9:43 pm
Profile YIM
Follower of Malal
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 6:37 pm
Posts: 2726
Location: Colchester, Essex (UK).
Post 
Ninale wrote:
This seems kind of confusing. It starts off saying it uses the Beastmasters LD, which seems to imply he makes Stupidity checks every turn. But at the end it states he only makes them if outside of 6" of the beastmaster.


Stupidity isn't the only psychological reaction in Mordheim, and those hounds aren't ItP.

I like your first revised version, but it needs to be rewritten to read what we intended: hounds are only stupid out of the BM's control zone, and use the BM's base Ld or the Leader's Ld if the BM is within the Leader's control zone. Out of the BM's control zone, you're stupid on Ld5, so tough for you.

_________________
General Kala wrote:
Cenyu wrote:
Hail to the King, baby.
All my eloquence fails to express it as well as this.


Wed Sep 27, 2006 5:21 am
Profile
Slave (off the Altar)

Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 11:34 am
Posts: 10
Location: Sembach AB, Germany
Post 
Trained: Slavehounds are wild creatures who have a ferocious fighting spirit, but need careful supervision or they are as likely to attack an enemy as stop to gnaw on a stray bone or wander off randomly. Slavehounds are trained to obey orders from Beastmasters, and if within 6" may use his Leadership instead of its own for any Leadership tests. If the Beastmaster is in range of the Leader ability, the Slavehound can use the increased Leadership value. Unless a Beastmaster is within 6" of the Slavehound at the start of their turn, Slavehounds are subject to the rules for Stupidity.

That should cover it now, I see what you meant now in the original part. Another possible idea is to break the Trained and Stupidity into 2 seperate rules to avoid possible confusion, and word them like this.

Trained: Slavehounds are wild creatures who have a ferocious fighting spirit, trained to take orders from the cruel Beastmasters. If within 6", the Slavehound may use his Leadership instead of its own for any Leadership tests. If the Beastmaster is in range of the Leader ability, the Slavehound can use the increased Leadership value.

Stupid: Unless they are within 6" of a Beastmaster at the start of their turn, Slavehounds are subject to the rules for Stupidity. Until a Beastmaster comes into range, the Hounds are as likely to attack an enemy as stop to gnaw on a stray bone or wander off randomly.

Breaking it in two parts makes for clearer text - consider it in when I get around to updating. Thanks.

- A.


Wed Sep 27, 2006 10:24 am
Profile YIM
Warband Noble
Warband Noble
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 6:06 am
Posts: 613
Location: Praag
Post 
I just noticed a detail in available weapons. Darksteel blade is mentioned among CC weapons for heroes, but not in other lists. Consequently, henchman advanced to hero will not get access to darksteel. Is it intended effect? Shouldn't we rather move darksteel to equipment as a darksteel upgrade?


Thu Oct 12, 2006 9:40 am
Profile
Beastmaster
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2003 4:09 pm
Posts: 392
Location: Duisburg, Germany
Post 
Doesn't a promoted henceman get instantly access to the heros equipment? I think so. If not we shall make it clear, of course.

_________________
../¨¨¨|
.|ô/ô 9..Real sportsmen hunt with arrows and fish with flies.
.~~ /|...Real gentlemen play games which require skill, not tools.
.|__/\...Extraordinary gentlemen even win with them.
.[>o<]...Welcome to the League of Extraordinary Druchii Gentlemen


Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:57 am
Profile ICQ
Warband Noble
Warband Noble
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 6:06 am
Posts: 613
Location: Praag
Post 
LRB only says, that promoted henchman stays the same kind of henchmen. So, I conclude, he uses the same weapons.

I will move darksteel weapon among equipment - this will make it available for all heroes and no-one other.

I also found that darksteel rules say that
Quote:
Any Druchii can upgrade any weapon to a Darksteel weapon


I will change it to mention heroes and close combat.
I will also change a bit the wording about price of darksteel, as I remember, that the intent was to raise its price 3 times, but current wording is unclear and possibly suggests 4.

ANSOB in Ninale's post wrote:
Breaking it in two parts makes for clearer text - consider it in when I get around to updating. Thanks.


Edit: All of it done now.


Thu Oct 12, 2006 12:51 pm
Profile
Warband Noble
Warband Noble
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 6:06 am
Posts: 613
Location: Praag
Post 
I am hereby officially declaring the pre-beta aka Alpha 4 version obsolete and locking the thread.


Fri Oct 20, 2006 11:12 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.   [ 138 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software