First Time Painter. How are my Cold Ones? Update

Discover the age-old techniques of painting...

Moderators: Layne, xFallenx, cultofkhaine

Forum rules
Remember that picture file size should be no larger than 256KB.
For the full Painting and Modelling rules, visit [url]http://www.druchii.net/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27440[/url]
Phox532
Executioner

First Time Painter. How are my Cold Ones? Update

Post by Phox532 »

So its my first time painting. How did I do?
Attachments
Cold Ones.jpg
Last edited by Phox532 on Wed Sep 16, 2015 11:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Phox Jorkarzul
Amboadine
Miscast into the Warp
Miscast into the Warp

Re: First Time Painter. How are my Cold Ones?

Post by Amboadine »

First thing you could consider is an ink wash.
This would immediately give some definition to the scales and add a little shine to the model.
It is amazing just how much this simple step lifts the model.

Oh and then paint and model the base of course :)

Thanks for taking the time to share your first models however, you will find your skills improve with time and patience. It is a rare individual who knocks out a masterpiece on the first attempt.
Red...
Generalissimo

Post by Red... »

It's a good first go - they look distinct and vivid.

I would second what Amboadine says. Also, consider giving them a dry brush highlight.

I would also recommend maybe not going for such extreme colour contrasts. The red is very powerful and looks somewhat jarring next to the completely different blue/grey color of the cold ones. Many of the best models have subtler changes of shade. You can do well with very vivid colour contrasts, but it's a more challenging task to do so.
"While all answers are replies, not all replies are answers. So answer the question."

Don't be a munchkin?

I am an Extraordinary Druchii Gentleman
Phox532
Executioner

Post by Phox532 »