What? A manticore?

How to beat those cowardly High Elves?

Moderators: Layne, The Dread Knights

Farsighteds
Slave on the Altar

What? A manticore?

Post by Farsighteds »

Hello everyone. I'm a bit new to Dark elves and I'm trying to get a sense of what works. I know that I am going to use more of the core choices than elite that this army has to offer, but I do want to use there monstrous creatures. The dilemma that I have is about the manticore. I like the model and would like to use it, but the problem that I have is that it doesn't have any form of defense. Absolutly nothing for armor. That's a tad bit risky in my book considering that the mount would cost me 200 points.

The question I have for you guys is 1. Why do you guys use a manticore? 2. What kinds of things do you equip to your rider or do in the game in order to keep his fragil hide from getting shot up before he gets into combat? and 3. Has this mount been effective in your experience as a dark elf player and what kind of purpose does it normally perform in your army?

Thanks for all opinions and advice
Gibious
Highborn

Post by Gibious »

Because its big and powerful, and we druchii love power. Not matter the risks or costs, for we are above it all

Basicaly a mini dragon that heros can ride, I like it for flanking of course being US-5 it can do a fair bit of damage
...Well thats the end of my post
Druchii77
Purveyor of Pain

Post by Druchii77 »

The manticore is actually a very viable mount option especially as it is a power mount for a master to take to battle. The key to playing well with a hydra is positioning. You need terrain to keep him out of the way of missile fire and magic. You also have to be patient as this guy rarely will charge before turns 3-4. The good things about him are S5, killing blow, fly rules, and terror. These things if used correctly are deadly.
castrensis in totus res
Fight my Brutehttp://suckerpunch77.mybrute.com
Try Evony!http://zao77s.evony.com
Mr. anderson