Is it me or do Dark Elves suck at magic?

How to beat those cowardly High Elves?

Moderators: Layne, The Dread Knights

Red...
Generalissimo

Is it me or do Dark Elves suck at magic?

Post by Red... »

I've been playing Dark Elves for some time now and must say I have always struggled to use magic well with them.

I put it down as something I was doing wrong and concentrated instead on other strengths of the army that I did manage to exploit (e.g. mopping the enemy up with hard high impact elite infantry, using super manoeuverable dark riders and harpies etc and pin cushioning my opponents with assassin rending stars, crossbowmen and reapers).

But then recently I started playing with a few other armies and was stunned to find that with each one that I tried the magic offense and defense were easier to use and worked better. That was when I started thinking that maybe it wasn't me, maybe Dark Elves really do suck at magic.

Here's why:

- We lack any offensive bound items. Thats important because offensive bound items give you an extra boost when trying to out-dice your opponent during the magic phase. The Banner of Wrath in a Warriors of Chaos Army, for example, gives its owner the equivalent of an extra powerful magic missile each turn, Nibbla's Itty Ring gives Orcs and Goblins a similar bonus, as do many bound magic items in other army lists. This has two advantages, it either means your opponent HAS to keep 1-2 dispel dice held back to try and counter your bound item (reducing the number of DD he can use against your other spells) or takes a nasty hit at the end of each magic phase. Because the Dark Elf player does not have any such bound items (cloak of shadows is weak at best), s/he gains no such advantage.