Dreadlord on peg with Black amulet

How to beat those cowardly High Elves?

Moderators: Layne, The Dread Knights

Sezax
Black Guard

Dreadlord on peg with Black amulet

Post by Sezax »

I have very little experience so far with playing under the rules of the ,,new edition", so I need your opinion.

I have finished conversion of my sorceress on peg, which involves lot of magical sprites flying around her and ethereal shield. I love the new model so much that I am tempted to play her as a Dreadlord with Black amulet and Black dragon egg.

I dont know however, if this would be in anyway useful in game. My thoughts are, that what I hate most are war machines and big flying things like Bloodthirster.

So could she work as a machine hunter, capable of shooting and toughening up with egg, when she fails to reach the machine??

Could she become the only thing capable of killing (to me seemingly unkillable) problems like Bloodthirster etc ?

I guess the main problem is small unit strength, constant need for taking ld tests, general possibly away from most units and the expensive general in very vulnerable positions for most of the time.

Could these things be somehow reduced by letting her join units with her pegasus and charging only i the most promising situations ?

I know this is never gonna be a competetive build, its all about me loving that model so much and trying to justify to myself the option of bringing her to one game in May...so is there any way for this build not to be a complete failure ? :D
Tyrannus deathbringer
Noble

Re: Dreadlord on peg with Black amulet

Post by Tyrannus deathbringer »

Black Amulet was my favourite magic item back in the day (4th edition). Same rules as now but 50 points.

It was part of a "Bloodthirster-killing" package! I haven't used it in 8th cos of the 70 points cost, so can't give you any direct feedback on it.