Beginner Army

Get critiqued on your latest army here...

Moderator: The Dread Knights

[w]arrior^
Slave (off the Altar)

Beginner Army

Post by [w]arrior^ »

Hello all,

I'm quite new in the warhammer world so I need some advise;
I started to collect a Dark Elf army, so I bought some units:

1 Warrior regiment (16 Repeater Crossbowmen) with Lordling, Standard and a musician.
and
1 Executioner unit (10) without any musician, Draich master, or Standard bearer

but what I need to know is what is the best thing to do as a next step?
:roll:
The_everchosen
Beastmaster
Location: Trying to think of something witty to put in this box

Post by The_everchosen »

You need some kind of leader - so I'd get a sorceress or noble to lead the army.

Then, I'd get some Dark Riders, as they're great in just about any kind of DE army. If you don't like the models (or cost) of the Dark Riders, you could always use glade guard with Xbows from your warrior pack. You'll have a couple spare that you could use to make a sorceress or Noble.

You could do with a block of troops as an 'anvil' so I'd get another Warrior pack and add 4 of your existing warriors to make a unit of 20 spearmen, and one of 12 Xbowmen. The Lordling and Standard aren't necessary in the Xbow unit. The stand is free VPs to your opponent, and you won't get much use out of a champ.

Hope that helps :D
History will be kind to me for I intend to write it - Winston Churchill
Opera of death
Malekith's Best Friend
Location: Owns all the slaves responsible for monsterdoo removal, stables of Karond Kar

Post by Opera of death »

Welcome to Druchii.net

Get some WE Glade Riders and convert them to Dark Riders.

Buy two more boxes of Warriors and configure your army as 1 x 20 spear warriors with full command and 2 x 12 rxb with shields. The four spare models should include 2 musicians that you can use in your rxbs if you want to. One of the remaining figures can be converted to a foot noble.